We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinction Hotel, Century City Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed over the labour weekend in a superior room apartment. It was immaculately clean (and I am fussy), spacious, tastefully decorated in contemporary design and furniture. A bit of noise overlooking Tory St but the double glazing made a difference, nothing to complain about. The staff were absolutely excellent from front desk to the housekeeping staff where all of them that we passed etc greeted us with a smile and were very friendly. Dont know why some of you are complaining about little things when we have stayed at some top hotels and this has to be right up there. Well done team....I have plugged this hotel to my clients and would definitely stay again. Awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabelMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 406 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

Negatives: noisy - street / layout of next door room/ not double glazed
Not as clean as it could be, specifically the crockery cutlery in kitchenette, carpet very stained, rest ok.
No 'compedium' type thing - its really difficult to find any info ie is there a gym, usual services etc.
Internet really slower than it should be, be not ridiculously priced as with some local hotels.
Positives: great location, facilities really good although no instructions, modern comfortable studios and apartments, (ive stayed in both).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was a first rate apartment and had everything we wanted. Very spacious and the appliances etc were all brand new. However there was nowhere to hang your clothes and the wall to the corridor was extremely thin. This meant that when other guests and cleaning staff were going in and out of rooms the doors would shut loudly and rattle the walls!! Street noise was to be expected - a pair of earplugs by the beside would be a useful addition!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Distinction Century City Apartments (formerly Grand Mercure) for one night. We were pleasantly greeted and our check-in was handled efficiently.

We stayed in room 806. We were quite impressed with the stylish and tidy kitchenette area - particularly the large fridge/freezer. The bed was comfortable and the tv swivelled enough so you could watch tv from the large and comfortable chair or from the bed. Although the chair was comfortable, it was only large enough for one person. The bathroom was clean and stylish although the glass ceiling tiles should be removed and cleaned (dust and probably insulation).

The studio was in a good location just a 2 minute walk to Courtney Place. Should you stay a few days, one of the best markets for foodies , Moore Wilson, is just up the street.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 806 which has a balcony over-looking Tory Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike & Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelwJ8653IB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elo07
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Excellent location in downtown Wellington. It was an easy walk to Cuba Street and the harbor. The room was a little noisy, but otherwise a very good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennTux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,910 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel

Address: 70 Tory Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#20 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $130 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel provides the ideal Wellington accommodation base for business or leisure, in a vibrant location in the heart of all the action. On the doorstep of key Wellington attractions including Te Papa Museum, Distinction Wellington Century City Hotel's 89 guest rooms range from impeccably designed studios, to luxurious penthouse suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Wellington Century City Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing