We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took two young kids ... And felt very welcomed!”
Review of Logan Brown

Logan Brown
Ranked #5 of 917 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $104
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Awarded TWO HATS Good Food Awards 2013, 2014, 2015 and Supreme Winner Restaurant of the Year NZ 2009. Nearly 20 years after Steve Logan founded the restaurant, Logan Brown is still showing newcomers how to do fine dining. The neo-classical interior remains as plush as ever, drawing diners who wouldn't normally brave the upper reaches of Cuba St, while competent, confident service encourages adventurous choices from the wine list. The kitchen, headed by Shaun Clouston, continues to turn out innovative, but not gimmicky, food. There's a strong emphasis on local and seasonal flavours, with a nod to the huntin', shootin' and fishin' enjoyed by the restaurant's founders. Classic Kiwi flavours are embraced and showcased with a sense of humour. In brief: style, service and food you can bank on Said international guest judge, Ralph-Kyte Powell, "If I had to select an international flagship for New Zealand cuisine. Logan Brown would be hard to go past"
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Took two young kids ... And felt very welcomed!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

While planning a LB meal I noticed the kids menu and thought it was worth a chance - kids aged 4 and 7 so armed with iPads we went for a 530pm bistro sitting to reduce ruining the evening of people there for a lovely night! The food was great as usual -- kids food was brilliant and extremely good value. But the kids were made to feel welcome and there was a quiz for them to complete which encouraged talking to the staff and included a kitchen tour!!! Great stuff guys. the only downside was that things we are little rushed at times. We will be back

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJH_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    204
    75
    37
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had the early sitting pre WOW.
Food servings minimal but delicious.
Waiters very attentive but knowledge of food details not very impressive and had to keep going back to ask someone.
Lovely setting

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakennotstiirred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Five star food, cafeteria service”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Arriving at 7.45 for our 8 pm booking, it was obvious that they had a very busy first sitting (5.30-7.30). Tables unset, but clean; used wine glasses stacked on the banquette. I believe the WOW shows made the exceptional value early sitting $45 fixe prixe menu very popular that night, but it left our staff slightly flustered and looking a little jaded.

We were shown the table, but nobody took the coats, or sat the ladies down. We had to ask three times to order, after waiting for 15 minutes of no attention despite being in the main thoroughfare in front of the kitchen. Random wine glasses were used for Riesling and Pinot Noir, despite varietal glasses visible on other tables. The architectural features are period and beautiful, but need a good clean.

All this seems snobby and picky, but this restaurant's a la carte menu is $29 for entree, $50 for main and $17 for dessert, not to mention $29.50 for single glasses of champagne or $15 per glass of table wine.

The food is exceptionally good and we enjoyed everything from the oysters to wagyu beef and the venison. Unfortunately, the kingfish dish was replaced with snapper. Their lamb shoulder special for two was presented at the table next door, whilst priced at $80, the poor man had to carve it himself at the table, whilst his partner watched the mess.

I have no qualms about paying this sort of money for exceptional food, but the whole experience is normally coupled with exceptional service. I felt sorry for the staff, having dealt with 70 set meal covers from the previous sitting, only to have to deal more diners, paying 50% per head more again, to eat a la carte.

High praise to the kitchen, but front of house need to realize that people come here to feel special. Otherwise, plenty of cafeterias serving lovely meals on Cuba Street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
logie22, Owner at Logan Brown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Queenslander, thanks for your feed back.
Unfortunately we have no excuse for the below par service on that particular night.
As was correctly pointed out the team were very under resoursed at that time and could not manage to provide service to the typical established standards to all the tables.
Its very distressing to the team when they can not give the care and attention and share their knowledge and passion with their guests every service.
We are all very sorry that the extraordinary situation occured and we can assure you it was a far from typical service at Logan Brown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An excellent dinner”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were recommended to visit by friends who had been before and we weren't disappointed. The meal was amazing - well crafted and presented. The matching wines were well chosen and a great recommendation. Will definitely be back when returning to Wellington!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely world class”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Degustation menu and matching wines for a birthday dinner. More than lived up to expectations, this was an absolutely superb experience and I'm almost reluctant to go again for fear of potentially ruining the aura I now have of this restaurant. Service was outstanding and separate waiters brought each course and described in detail. The finishing touch that most impressed me was that they brought a plate out with Happy Birthday written in chocolate despite our having not even mentioned it to them during the evening, rather in passing at the time of booking. Should be top of the Tripadvisor list for Wellington surely!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickliveshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Logan Brown also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Logan Brown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing