We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An event”
Review of Logan Brown

Logan Brown
Ranked #4 of 921 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $108
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Awarded TWO HATS Good Food Awards 2013, 2014, 2015 and Supreme Winner Restaurant of the Year NZ 2009. Nearly 20 years after Steve Logan founded the restaurant, Logan Brown is still showing newcomers how to do fine dining. The neo-classical interior remains as plush as ever, drawing diners who wouldn't normally brave the upper reaches of Cuba St, while competent, confident service encourages adventurous choices from the wine list. The kitchen, headed by Shaun Clouston, continues to turn out innovative, but not gimmicky, food. There's a strong emphasis on local and seasonal flavours, with a nod to the huntin', shootin' and fishin' enjoyed by the restaurant's founders. Classic Kiwi flavours are embraced and showcased with a sense of humour. In brief: style, service and food you can bank on Said international guest judge, Ralph-Kyte Powell, "If I had to select an international flagship for New Zealand cuisine. Logan Brown would be hard to go past"
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An event”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had the pre theatre menu and enjoyed the experience from beginning to end. The decor is stylish and the service friendly but highly professional. The menu choice was interesting and did not disappoint through all three courses. Our waitress (from Leeds, England) was delightful. The owner chatted with us on the way out and was also helping with serving. We would recommend it highly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    207
    76
    37
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Too varied to say
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wow. It's worth it!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We went for my birthday as friend had said it was very expensive. Well if you have their daily menu it is actually very reasonable. We each had a starter and a main and shared on desert. The meals were fantastic. The food was elegant, interesting (I.e. not at all predictable flavour combinations) and perfectly cooked. The suggested wines were also reasonably priced and excellent. The meals were not huge but we were full and only wanted to share on desert. We will definitely return and try out some regular menu items. Basically this is by far the best meal we have had in Wellington!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Reputation Well Deserved.....”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had the pleasure of dining at Logan Brown in March 2012, and my choice was made after researching TripAdvisor. I then went to their website which was very well presented and easy to navigate.

I cannot speak highly enough of the choices, quality and presentation of the food, the attentive staff and the excellent selection of local and international wines.

And the price? Yes, as others have commented it is expensive, but definitely worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Wagyu Beef”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We dined here as a birthday treat for my husband whilst we were on holiday. It is certainly not cheap, but the food, at mosphere and service live up to the price-tag. Our meals were delicious, in particular the wonderful Wagyu beef steaks they had as a special - these were so good that I would highly recommend they be made a permanent addition to the menu! The building is an old bank, with a beautiful interior and exterior. Highly recommended for a special meal out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MirandaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Luxurious surroundings but could have made a better soup myself and food generally nothing special despite being recommended. Definitely not value for money.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
logie22, Owner at Logan Brown, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
The soup you had in July 2012 was Roasted Jerusalem Artichoke with Pork and Fennel Sausage.

Its the first course of the 3 course bistro menu that includes bread for $45

We get the Artichokes from a local supplier.
We clean them up, then toss them in olive oil and roast them with salt and pepper.
Meanwhile we sweat off diced celeriac, potatoes, onions, thyme and bay leaf.
We add a rich chicken stock made from scratch with roasted bones onions celery and carrots.
When the artichokes are golden we add them to the pot and simmer.
Next the soup is pureed then passed through a sieve to get an incredible silky smooth texture.
We serve it pipping hot in a hot bowl and garnish it with Pork and Fennel Sausage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Logan Brown also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Logan Brown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing