We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the best Indian ever!”
Review of Great India

Great India
Ranked #46 of 930 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best Indian ever!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The service was outstanding. Very friendly and nice. The food was yum scrumptious. Palak Paneer, Fish Curry and Vegetable Korma...all great. Naan was to perfection. Coconut rice was outstanding. Just wonderful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljkenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    122
    38
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The good: very formal service including hot mint scented towels after the meal. Food was largely not bad.

The bad: we felt pressured into ordering puppadums and the samosas were made with spring roll wrappers (a cheap shortcut!). The food was not worth the money overall.

Not the worst choice ever but we think it was not at the standard that the reviews implied.

Helpful?
1 Thank rasweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
“Exceptional!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

When it comes to Indian food I'm pretty simple: Butter Chicken, steamed rice, garlic naan and a mango lassi. The food here is good. The butter chicken tastes slightly different to that which you would get at Tulsi, Curry Village and Little India (which is what I'm used to) but still nice. It could be because Great India has honey in theirs and I'm not a huge fan of honey. Their naan bread is delicious and their mango lassi is OMG Wow! The best thing about Great India is the service. You're greeted at the door with a smile and chivalry is not dead there. My seat was pulled out for me, my water poured, etc. At the end of the meal we put the remainder of our meals into containers to take home. You also get a hot scented (minty fresh tonight) face cloth to clean your face and hands with too. All in all an impressive experience which resulted in a 15% tip and I would dine there again :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissSarahT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The food was tasty, the service was efficient and I thought the portion size was just right for lunch. It was a good deal at $12.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pretty good Indian food”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited great India for lunch and found it to be pretty good. Pretty cheap lunch option and good taste and portion size for the value. I would definitely go there again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeeva07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great India also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Great India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing