We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insight in the World of Weta”
Review of The Weta Cave

The Weta Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.00*
and up
Middle-Earth Filming Location Lord of The Rings Trilogy Tours
More Info
$101.09*
and up
Weta Workshop Shore Excursion Evening with Dinner
More Info
$146.40*
and up
Wellington's Lord of the Rings Locations Tour including Lunch
Ranked #1 of 32 Shopping in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Weta Cave is your gateway to two incredible film-making experiences in Wellington, New Zealand. From Lord of the Rings to Avatar: our Weta Cave Workshop Tour reveals how me make the props, costumes, creatures and models from your favourite films. Catch a glimpse of artists at work on our tour stage and peek through windows that look directly into the workshop itself! Ever wanted to visit a real shooting stage? Blast off on our Miniatures Stage Tour to see the unbelievable Weta Workshop models and miniatures built for the popular TV series, Thunderbirds Are Go! A cavern of creativity, the Weta Cave shop also boasts collectibles designed by the artists at Weta Workshop, prop replicas, apparel, jewellery, books and more. While you’re here, take a seat for a free film about the history of film-making on the Miramar Peninsula. It screens throughout the day.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Weta Cave and tour of the workshop was everything I expected and more I loved getting a glimpse into the workshop and learning how the props, costumes and prosthetics are made.
The tour guide was very informative and funny and made the group I was with feel at ease, he asked for questions along the way and lots of questions were asked but I was busy having a great time listening to him explain his responses and all the props and looking around that I didn't ask any questions.
Thanks for making the tour a great experience!

Thank jomel7513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Great to hear that you enjoyed your tour, if you have time, sign up for the newsletter on our webpage its a fun way to find out more about what were working on. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,628 - 1,632 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We are big fans of many of the films that Weta has been involved in, so a visit to Weta Cave was at the top of our list when we visited Wellington. The huge trolls outside the entrance make for a great photo op! The gift shop/museum is very interesting and the free film is informative too. The behind the scenes tour does cost extra. Our tour was led by one of the painters, and he shared lots of information about how the various props were made. The have windows allowing you to see into the various workshops. While we were there, the master sword maker was working on a replica sword. Photos are not allowed while on the behind the scenes tour. You do get to see and touch many items made for LOTR and other films. After touring Weta, we made a quick trip out to the Wellington airport to see the giant Gollum that Weta created and installed over the food court area. I would agree with other reviewers that this is not a good place for very young children, but I think tweens and teens would really enjoy seeing how the behind the scenes movie magic is made.

Thank alswife82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thanks for your review, great to hear that you enjoyed your tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Oh how I so wanted to go here and I wasn't disappointed, loved the shop, all the bits and pieces, wanted to spend a fortune on stuff, but was with the family and my boys 6 & 4 were a bit scared of some of the displays and that dampened my excitement.

We booked the behind the scenes tour (last less than 30minutes) and was advised by the member of staff that it maybe not suitable for young kids and he was right.

The young American lass taking the tour was very good, and the information and props was amazing, but the kids weren't that interested and some of the props scared the kids. But the man behind Weta did appear and walk through us all on the way to do some more secret stuff in the back.

This is a must do visit if you have the slightest interest in the films, but if you have young kids, don't take them, just go in one at a time or get someone to look after them for the hour you'd waste in dream land.

1  Thank jacko1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi Jacko,

Thanks for your feedback, good to hear you enjoyed your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We found out about the Weta Cave on the New Zealand tourism website, touting it as one of the top 10 free attractions in Wellington City. We were looking forward to the exclusive behind the scenes screening at the shop but when we entered the theaterette, one of the staff members chased us out and said the screening would only occur after the guided tour (which costs $20), despite the signage outside inviting people in for the next screening session. We were unsure whether the screening was free or part of the guided tour as we left promptly after being treated that way by the staff.

Weta Cave is definitely worth a visit for lotr fans, but there is much room for improvement in the service standard of their staff members.

1  Thank Tanandlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi there,

We appreciate all feedback, whether its good or bad. I've taken your review back to the team and we will look at ways to improve our customer service going forward.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited the cave and went on the workshop tour. I had seen all the movies so was interested to see how the costumes prothestics were made. I can now appreciate all the hours that went into the movies

Thank rosemary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, glad to hear you enjoyed your experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Weta Cave also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Weta Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing