We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weta Cave disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Weta Cave

The Weta Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.80*
and up
Weta Cave Workshop Tour
Ranked #1 of 30 Shopping in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Qualmark endorsed Weta Cave is your gateway to two immersive film-making experiences on the Miramar Peninsula: Our Weta Cave Workshop Tour provides a unique peek behind-the-scenes through windows into our Workshop. Our story of film-making creativity is told by members of our crew on a tour full of authentic props, models and weapons from The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit Motion Picture Trilogies, and more. They may even reveal a few of the secrets behind the movie magic! Step onto a live shooting stage for our guided Thunderbirds Are Go Behind-The-Scenes Experience. This journey into our latest handcrafted world, reveals the authentic set pieces, props, and models that bring to life this contemporary retelling of the beloved TV classic. FAB. A cavern of creativity, the Weta Cave shop also boasts sculptures made by the filmmakers at Weta Workshop, prop replicas, apparel, jewellery, books and more. While you’re here, take a seat for a free film about the history of film-making on the Miramar Peninsula. It screens throughout the day. Ticket prices for either the Weta Cave Workshop Tour or Thunderbirds Behind the Scenes Tour: Adults: $25, Children 6-12 years: $12, Infants (5 and under): FREE, Family Pass (2 adults + 2 children) $60
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weta Cave disappointing”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very disappointed as when I took the kids knowing that the studio was next door, we expected to see a lot more, it's just like a shop selling stuff, the kids thoughts they'd be able to see props of films and a look at more that just a small shop of a few things that are nice to look at but having a larger premises with more props from old films would be so much nicer for the kids to be able to see and photograph...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Keren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Keren H

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit.

Did you take the opportunity to do the Window into Workshop tour?
This is a recently opened space, and you would certainly have the opportunity to see more props, as well as learn how we go about making them in there.

Hope you take the time to come back and take the tour

Cheers

The Weta Cave and Window into Workshop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    931
    523
    208
    47
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss this - even my Mum loved it!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Already a Lord of the Rings fan and a Peter Jackson fan, the tour was a must for me. If you aren't a fan, the cave may not hold your interest, but I would still say do the "Window into Weta" tour!

At $20 each (a nice and reasonable price) it made it affordable for all. My Mum came with me and came out aghast at how clever the props are and the processes they go through to make them look so amazingly real. With stories of some of the amazingly talented staff and their skills (we were lucky to see a master swordsman at work), the guide (Mark Dewes) was very entertaining and informative with a wry smile!

I had an opportunity to chat with one of their sculptors Craig (regarding my man's dream of working there one day!) who was fascinating and had some words of encouragement and lovely works on display.

With no photos allowed (but understandable), both Mum and I were suitably impressed at both the work and the passion that comes from Weta.

If you are a fan of Weta, start saving now! (I went a little crazy in the Weta shop).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi D B

Thanks for your positive review, and so glad to hear that you had such a positive experience.

Hope to have you back in some time!!

Cheers

The Window into Workshop and Weta Cave Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Do the Tour”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Weta cave alone is not really enough even with the short movie, but some nice attractions inside and photo opportunities. The tour I think is a must even at $20 each. A short tour through what they say are work shops but is really a set up for the tour. You come away realising how clever and talented these people are and many movies they have ben involved in. Tour guide we believe is one of the staff was pleasant and not over the top but very informative. Excellent work Weta and keep it up. worth the visit even for a kiwi.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AucklandDevon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi AucklandDevon11

Thanks for taking the time to do the Window into Workshop tour! And glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Cheers

The Wteta Cave and Window into Workshop Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“interesting for Lord of the Rings and Hobbit buffs”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

we had a wonderful tour of Weta caves in wellington , New Zealand.
It was intersting to have a peak into the making of LOTR and the Hobbitt as well as see some movie locations around Wellington.
Out tour guide Kent was hilarious and was inthe movies.
I would recommend this tour if visiting Wellington New Zealand

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dundasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hey Dundasmom

Glad you enjoyed your visit of the Weta Cave.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour with Rover.

Cheers

The Weta Cave Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tour Is A Must”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you're going to buy something at Weta Cave and that's it, then ok, don't do the tour. BUT! IF you are like me, you want to see the art behind the scenes of some great movie productions. We did the workshop tour and had a very knowledgeable guide, no camera/video allowed, you have to just keep it in your case. Lots of goodies you wouldn't normally see. We went at 11:30am I think they are every 30 min or so. A few scary masks/heads that very little ones wouldn't like much at the beginning. There is a fee, but I'm glad I went!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi Twacka

Thanks for visiting and your review. Glad you enjoyed took and enjoyed tour - and for the feedback given.
Its a great space for learning more about what goes on behind the walls of Weta - so definitely good for film buffs like you!!

Hope to see you again.

Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Weta Cave also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Weta Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing