We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Weta Cave

The Weta Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.80*
and up
Weta Cave Workshop Tour
Ranked #1 of 30 Shopping in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Qualmark endorsed Weta Cave is your gateway to two immersive film-making experiences on the Miramar Peninsula: Our Weta Cave Workshop Tour provides a unique peek behind-the-scenes through windows into our Workshop. Our story of film-making creativity is told by members of our crew on a tour full of authentic props, models and weapons from The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit Motion Picture Trilogies, and more. They may even reveal a few of the secrets behind the movie magic! Step onto a live shooting stage for our guided Thunderbirds Are Go Behind-The-Scenes Experience. This journey into our latest handcrafted world, reveals the authentic set pieces, props, and models that bring to life this contemporary retelling of the beloved TV classic. FAB. A cavern of creativity, the Weta Cave shop also boasts sculptures made by the filmmakers at Weta Workshop, prop replicas, apparel, jewellery, books and more. While you’re here, take a seat for a free film about the history of film-making on the Miramar Peninsula. It screens throughout the day. Ticket prices for either the Weta Cave Workshop Tour or Thunderbirds Behind the Scenes Tour: Adults: $25, Children 6-12 years: $12, Infants (5 and under): FREE, Family Pass (2 adults + 2 children) $60
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Initially was expecting more but there really is a lot packed in the small space. There's a variety of memorabilia and artwork of which many can be purchased. Is worth seeing the short movie which highlights the history and impressive work by the weta team over the years. Is easy to get there by bus and is free!

Helpful?
Thank travel-bug-delight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks Travel-bug. We do manage to pack a lot into that small space - and there is only more to come!

The Weta Cave Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    931
    523
    208
    47
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must go, if you are a fan.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

And it is entirely free. the place is small, but if you are a fan you'll spend a lot of time in there with all the displays.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pin0y_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Glad you enjoyed our space! We like to think that while small, its perfectly formed.

Cheers

The Weta Cave Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our two daughters loved it here. This is essentially a small shop and museum that gives you a taste of what the Weta Studios are all about. In the limited space that they have they manage to fit in a lot of models, various props and life size characters from your favourite fims. An atmosphere of geeky pride emanates from the friendly staff who have a well rehearsed repertoire of film buff guff. There is also a short film shown in a side room which introduces you to what happens "behind the scenes" at Weta which is an impressive example of both creativity and a New Zealand business model.
It is easy to find once you are in Miramar. There are sign posts directing you to the location within a residential area and where you can park easily.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hey Annie

Thanks for your awesome review - especially loved that bit about the 'film buff guff'. The staff here are definitely passionate - and great that you got that experience!

Hope to see you again soon

Cheers from all the team at the Weta Cave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
272 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“The whole area is great, too!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

For such a wee 'cave', there's a lot crammed in, and a fantastic free doco film that appears to be brought up to date periodically as more blockbusters are added to Weta's stable. A tiny museum, too, of old Jackson movie props. The kamodo dragon outside is a moulding of one that died at San Diego zoo. Take a walk down Park Road and see Park Road Post and sneaky peek into 'prop' warehouses opposite. Keep walking to The Roxy Theatre (owned by oscar winners Richard Taylor and Jamie Selkirk), ask to go upstairs and look at the ceiling. Then go around the coirner into Miramar Avenue (toward the sea) - you're practically at the Stone Street Studios.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pixiehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thanks for your review - great to hear your feedback. Hope to see you again sometime

Cheers
The team at The Weta Cave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Smaller than expected!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Cosidering the impact WETA has had on the movie industry over the last 10 years, as well as all the hype and advertising (we were given leaflets from the WETA shop in Auckland), as well as the long hyke to get there on the bus, to be honest this was all a bit dissappointing. Apart from a shop, and a 10 minute movie in a cramped theatre, there really is not any exhibits to speak of. I understand that a lot of the work they do is all top secret, but I am sure they could have given over a bit more space of their studios for tourists that have really taken half to a full day out of their schedule to visit the place. I was a big LOTR and Avatar fan, and was a bit dissappointed by the whole experience really. If you are really into WETA you may appreciate this more, but its not much more than a glorified shop and you can buy most stuff online. Also the shop at sky tower in Auckland seems to be cheaper!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LukeB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAbernethy, Manager at The Weta Cave, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hi Luke,

Thanks for your review, I'm so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience. Unfortunately the nature and variety of projects that we work on currently has meant that, the only space available for The Weta Cave is the small area we are in currently.

Still - I noticed that your visited us in March prior to our micro museum being refreshed. At present we have a small number of original props from Avatar on display - we would love to see you again.

Kind regards
The team at The Weta Cave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Weta Cave also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Weta Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing