We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative dish, and great service”
Review of Le Canard - CLOSED

Le Canard
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Creative dish, and great service”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have been to this place a few times. They offer different dishes from time to time, and always explain the dishes really well. Never disappointed. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It's ok, but”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Been to La Canard four times over the last few years, always good but this time I was disappointed. We had the 9 course Degustation menu with matching wines at NZD 200 per person. Ambiance was lovely, staff were lovely but the food, although beautifully presented lacked the flavour to push it into great. The lack of seasoning was apparent - and I very rarely add salt, the mainly puréed vegetable portions were too small to get a viable taste of the food - think 3 Brussels Sprout leaves on tiny little swirls of something puréed and you get the hint. As for the wine match, it was not good, the choice of an extraordinarily thin NZ wine from Marlborough was poor, and the use of a Bergerac with the duck was a total mistake, Bergerac being one of the "lack" wines from France, ie it lacks body, flavour and style and is a poor vin de pays in most cases. The meal was a disappointment, the portions did verge on the silly, and I accept that a tasting menu will always be small per portion but 3 Brussels Sprout leaves even leaves me wondering if the chef is taking the Michael. I shall give it one more chance but we will go a la carte next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank roobarb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Great Value”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our third choice of restaurant for our anniversary dinner after the first two were full - I'm glad they were! The quality of food is outstanding - it's not cheap but it is much cheaper than you would pay elsewhere for this quality. Service was impeccable.
We had a great time and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HippoWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nicely Done”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went here for a wedding anniversary dinner. We had the 7 course degustation with wine pairings and it was great. All courses were perfectly presented and well balanced - the duck was delicious and the depth of flavour in the jus was tremendous. The standout dish was the mandarin dessert, with mandarin rice paper and crunchy (dried?) mandarin segments.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank expatbizzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“PERFECT.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been here twice so far and I love it! When I think of the greatest places I have eaten, this place always comes in the top 5. The service is top notch, and the food is well designed by the chefs. You can see and taste every bit of effort the chefs put into their meals which is the main reason I love this place. The chefs and staff LOVE food and LOVE making food for people. Treat Yo Self to Le Canard!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Canard also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing