We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must for Hungry Vegans and Vegetarians”

Aunty Mena's Vegetarian Cafe
Ranked #82 of 916 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Must for Hungry Vegans and Vegetarians”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

It was raining when I visited Wellington, so I was particularly happy to find warm, filling vegan food at Aunty Mena's. I would echo earlier reviews in saying that the place doesn't look like much, but the service is friendly and the food is delicious and fresh. It's well worth stopping if you're in the area. Like many smaller places in New Zealand, they don't take credit cards so either use your debit card or get cash before you come.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank klwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    49
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
205 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Down To Earth”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Some very tasty selections on offer here and quickly cooked before your eyes. Simple, honest fare at good prices (compared with those in Auckland!) - good for those on a budget who also want wholesome food. Try it out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice to have a lot of options but nothing to write home about”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Always appreciate a straight up veg*n restaurant, especially when travelling, but I have had much better. My main of satay chicken stirfry w/ rice was $18, pretty tasty despite the high price tag and enough to bring us back again the following night.

Decided to try the Gado Gado based on the review below saying it was amazing, I've never been so confused. Not like a Gado gado at all. Some sort of pureed carrot instead of peanut sauce on top of lukewarm vegetables. Wouldn't have minded if the flavours were good but it did not work at all. Also ordered Mie goreng with medium spice and there was none at all, so either they forgot or they've downed their spice intensity for Western tastes so I'd go one step spicier than what you usually get.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Backwardblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gado Gado Good...”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Really lovely vege Gado Gado tonight. Very fresh, beautifully prepared... Lovely atmosphere, perfect relaxed decor, I'll be back...

Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'm not a vegetarian, but I loved it!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went to this place for a quick last-minute dinner with a visiting vegetarian friend, and what a gem! Well cooked & presented food, which arrives at the table quickly & piping hot. Extensive menu of Asian style vegan & vegetarian dishes, including classic veggie favorites, curries using meat substitutes, and some very tasty & creative starters & snacks. Friendly atmosphere, and staff who obviously care about what they do. Very reasonably priced too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunty Mena's Vegetarian Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Aunty Mena's Vegetarian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing