We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great veggie meals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aunty Mena's Vegetarian Cafe

Aunty Mena's Vegetarian Cafe
Ranked #72 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great veggie meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having just arrived in wellington this is set to become a regular for us! Really good selection of veggie meals which taste great, are full of veggie goodness all at a great price in comfie surroundings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wellywearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    47
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Something warm in Windy Welly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This amazing vegan and veggie restaurant was just down from my hotel in Wellington on the ever so cool Cuba Street. I visited back in August/September 2011 but I'm now just finding my love for Trip Advisor.

My first night in Wellington was a cold one, especially when going from summer back in the UK to winter in NZ, so I stopped in Aunty Mena's on the way back to the hotel - where I drowned myself in some amazing dumplings and fresh vegetables in a broth and a laksa dumpling curry.

The dumplings were well made and perfect and everything was very tasty and warm. Lots on offer and lots of locals - which is always a good sign!

A lovely, cheap and charming place, though I was a little lonely as I was travelling across NZ on my own *sad face* - Aunty Mena's both cheered me up and warmed me up. Great after a battering from across the Cook Strait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexTrevelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty, fast, healthy and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

You wouldn't look twice at this little gem on Cuba Street if you hadn't been told that they served up such high quality food. Luckily i had.

I had the Sezchuan chilli soup which was filled with tofu, shitake mushrooms and other delicious veges whilst my friend had the hearty Laksa with the gluten free noodles (just ask for the lighter rice noodles if you are on this diet).

The food was lovely, the service friendly and we both left feeling completely satisfied on a winters day. Relieved almost, like we'd given our bodies a decent dose of goodness to ward off the cold, blustery weather.

Will definitely be a regular going forward, especially considering my meal was under a tenner!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SophGrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Went to this place at least thrice during our holiday trip to Welly. Although the decor is nothing to write home about the food is absolutely delicious. Our toddler was also treated with a lot of respect and affection. We found the staff to be very polite, relaxed and friendly. They don't look lime they are just waiting to show you the door once you finish your meals.
I'll rate this place A++. Highly recommended for vegetarians. Expect great quality/quantity of food (and low expectations from the deco) and you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neelsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

A vegan who got rather chubby living in Malaysia on exchange as a teenager, this restaurant was a dream come true. While the decor is super simple, the food is absolutely amazing - no amount of superlatives could do justice to the happiness I felt after eating here! Sadly only able for one meal in our stay, we managed to fit in 'Chicken' Skewers, Roti Chani and insanely good Char KwayTeow - can't wait until I'm back in Wellington - it will be a beeline straight to Aunty Mena's!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch0c0lateE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunty Mena's Vegetarian Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Aunty Mena's Vegetarian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing