We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wagamama Wellington

Wagamama Wellington
Ranked #116 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

It won't break the bank to come here but it doesn't surprise you either. It is nice to be on the waterfront.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelledBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    153
    89
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“They are slipping....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've eaten at Wagamama in Wellington on and off now for the past five years, and I have formed the opinion that the quality of service has slipped . My last visit there, for lunch last Sunday, didnt leave a great impression. The food itself is ok, its competitvly priced compared to many Wellington restaurants and the view is good but the service just gets worse and each time I dine there. They were prompt serving us, but then it took an age to get served even though there was hardly anyone in the place. We had to get the attention of a waitress who was busy cleaning tables to get our order taken, then they they forgot our water. The head waitress gave the distinct impression she didnt want to be there. Not sure if Id bother going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SquirePBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Another link in a good chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you've had Wagamama's food anywhere else in the world you'll know exactly what you're in for here: good to great Asian dishes at long communal tables with a hip young vibe. This restaurant has a nice outlook around the docks area - bit of a walk from the Cuba Street end of town, but it's a great walk on a nice day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dragonfly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Way better places to eat in Wellington”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have eaten here a few times and the food has been okay but on my last visit the dish I ordered did not match the description on the menu. One of the ingredients that was supposed to feature in the dish was pineapple. After MUCH digging around I found two pieces smaller than my little finger nail - not impressed. Coriander was supposed to be another feature - there was no coriander in the dish, just a wilted sprig as garnish on the side of the plate.

Drinks took forever to come and over all I didn't think much of the service. Its sooo loud that you have to yell across the table to be heard. Not great.

Would not come back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank superkayakgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Waitress with a cold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a waitress with a cold, who sniffed away while taking our orders and then when delivering food. Really put you off wanting to eat as I felt I'd walk away with her germs for sure. The food was OK, but really not as good as you can create at home with a few simple ingredients. Wouldn't bother going back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Millie_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama Wellington also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Wagamama Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing