We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Useful for 1 night stop before ferry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Gateway Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capital Gateway Motor Inn
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Useful for 1 night stop before ferry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed overnight with motorhome before early morning ferry. Yes its a car park but suited our need. Spaces are wide enough for the biggest motorhome with additional hatched off area of 1m between every two spaces. Long vehicles may have some difficulty with turning spaces, depending on which site you are allocated. Facilities were more than adequate for users when it was more than half full. Toilets, showers and kitchen available, and were clean and fully working. Power is available to all sites. The dump station is located by the facilities block, and could be difficult to use if water in/out are on different sides of vehicle, due to restriction on turning space. The motor inn is easy to find and is directly off the motorway. The route to the ferries is well signed, and took us five minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    29
    19
    9
See reviews for
30
53
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the night in a motorhome as we were getting the ferry the following day and we wanted to be close to Wellington. Very disappointed with the camping area. Pretty much a motorway service station aesthetic - white lines painted on the Tarmac with 1m gaps between them. A few grass strips or even the odd plant in a tub would have cheered it up no end.
The toilet facilities were inadequate for the number of sites - one toilet, one shower and one disabled toilet/shower for each of the sexes. Toilet block had clearly been built by someone who has never been camping in their lives as every detail was badly thought through. To get hot water in the shower you have to press a button out in the hallway (ie outside the men's/ladies doors) for a timed dose of hot water. Quite how this helps anyone I'm not sure - is just inconvenient. Complete lack of hooks or dry areas in the shower, not especially clean and no space around the sink area for hanging towels/wash bags.
Site is conveniently located for a bus ($6.50 return) into the city centre and we were provided with a timetable on check-in. However as pointed out by another reviewer, would probably be better to stay at the Wellington waterfront site, which is just as grim and unattractive, but is actually in the heart of the city centre.
Overall this is clearly a motel who have extra space in the car park and have decided to charge campers $46 to park there. However, the camping side gets very little thought and attention compared to the motel business. Provided some of the above feedback on check out, was met with a rather bland "I'll tell the manager" response.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We choose this Motel as it is ideal for the ferry to Picton. But there where it stops. It is old, run down and stuck in the 80's. Time to wake up guys and do some refurbishing. Thi kitchen and bathroom facilities are very poor and well used. The decor , TV beds need urgent replacement. It was the most expencive hotel on a two week holiday and the poorest one. The internet connection was a real ripp off! It is only available in the lobby and you get charged a fortune for ten minutes.It was very noisy right next to the motorway and no sound proofing. Once again if you don't have to get the ferry next morning there is no reason to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights, we arrived late on a rainy, windy night (typical Wgtn weather I heard), The heater was left on so when we got to our room it was nice & warm (perfect) and the electric blanket was also on, the room was well equipped for what we paid for, the room service ladies we're always smiling and happy, and the front end staff were always polite & helpful. Would recommend this motel to anyone wanting excellent, polite service:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were campervanning and stayed in this motel's carpark for two nights - there's powered spaces available and a small utilities block plus a kitchen. Probably not sufficient amenities for the number of people that could potentially stay on site but that said, we didn't really experience any problems. The site is very close to town, and the staff provided bus maps and timetables to help us get in and out which made it very easy. They also gave us helpful driving instructions to the ferry terminal - which we guess is the main reason people choose to stay in this site over anywhere else. Didn't stay in the motel so can't comment, but they make a pretty good hot chocolate in the bar!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-and-Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

For $46, you get an electrified parking space. Yes, you get access to a kitchen, toilet, and shower. But only one toilet for the entire parking lot, and a shower with a button to push if you want hot water (located OUTSIDE the shower area).

It advertises that it is the closest holiday park to the waterfront and CBD. This is totally false. Wellington Waterfront Motorhome Park is directly next door to one of the ferry terminals. It is $50. It is definitely no frills, but you get a better shower experience, more toilets, free wifi, and an exceptional location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herpichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We received a warm welcome on arrival and enjoyed our stay in an executive spa unit, when travelling with our adult daughter recently. The motor inn is easily located close to the Newlands off-ramp from the motorway, so it was easy for us to go back into Wellington or north to Porirua for a shopping trip. The two level unit was clean and tidy with plenty of space for us all. The beds, kitchen and bathroom were adequate but the standout features for us were the excellent heater and the spa bath. My husband loved the spa bath, angled perfectly for viewing the upstairs TV set and the heater kept us all warm. We did not use their restaurant or bar facilities. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner as they only supply flowing soap for the handbasin and shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
4.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
3.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#32 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wellington
BEST WESTERN Wellington
#19 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newlands Court Motel
Newlands Court Motel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Gateway Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Gateway Motor Inn

Property: Capital Gateway Motor Inn
Address: 1 Newlands Road | Newlands, Wellington 6037, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Gateway Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Gateway Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing