We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't waste your time” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capital Gateway Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capital Gateway Motor Inn
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We choose this Motel as it is ideal for the ferry to Picton. But there where it stops. It is old, run down and stuck in the 80's. Time to wake up guys and do some refurbishing. Thi kitchen and bathroom facilities are very poor and well used. The decor , TV beds need urgent replacement. It was the most expencive hotel on a two week holiday and the poorest one. The internet connection was a real ripp off! It is only available in the lobby and you get charged a fortune for ten minutes.It was very noisy right next to the motorway and no sound proofing. Once again if you don't have to get the ferry next morning there is no reason to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    31
    20
    9
See reviews for
30
56
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights, we arrived late on a rainy, windy night (typical Wgtn weather I heard), The heater was left on so when we got to our room it was nice & warm (perfect) and the electric blanket was also on, the room was well equipped for what we paid for, the room service ladies we're always smiling and happy, and the front end staff were always polite & helpful. Would recommend this motel to anyone wanting excellent, polite service:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were campervanning and stayed in this motel's carpark for two nights - there's powered spaces available and a small utilities block plus a kitchen. Probably not sufficient amenities for the number of people that could potentially stay on site but that said, we didn't really experience any problems. The site is very close to town, and the staff provided bus maps and timetables to help us get in and out which made it very easy. They also gave us helpful driving instructions to the ferry terminal - which we guess is the main reason people choose to stay in this site over anywhere else. Didn't stay in the motel so can't comment, but they make a pretty good hot chocolate in the bar!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-and-Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

For $46, you get an electrified parking space. Yes, you get access to a kitchen, toilet, and shower. But only one toilet for the entire parking lot, and a shower with a button to push if you want hot water (located OUTSIDE the shower area).

It advertises that it is the closest holiday park to the waterfront and CBD. This is totally false. Wellington Waterfront Motorhome Park is directly next door to one of the ferry terminals. It is $50. It is definitely no frills, but you get a better shower experience, more toilets, free wifi, and an exceptional location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herpichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We received a warm welcome on arrival and enjoyed our stay in an executive spa unit, when travelling with our adult daughter recently. The motor inn is easily located close to the Newlands off-ramp from the motorway, so it was easy for us to go back into Wellington or north to Porirua for a shopping trip. The two level unit was clean and tidy with plenty of space for us all. The beds, kitchen and bathroom were adequate but the standout features for us were the excellent heater and the spa bath. My husband loved the spa bath, angled perfectly for viewing the upstairs TV set and the heater kept us all warm. We did not use their restaurant or bar facilities. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner as they only supply flowing soap for the handbasin and shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place, as I see written by another use is dreadful for caravans, looking for a nice place to stay in beautiful wellington, with amicable facilities, however, this place is far from caravan/motor home friendly!

For us, wanting to travel on the road in a motor home, we expect, nothing but clean facilities! The toilet/shower felt like nothing other than a public toilet and shower cubicle you'd expect to find in a park, they were filthy! I ended up showing in the men's with my partner, as the women's was quite dirty, someone had left there dirty clothes in there, hair was everywhere, and tampon rapper was on the floor. I even made the attempt to tell the staff, but they didn't seem too fazed at all, went in tidied it very minimally - I could of one a better job!

I'm hoping the actual hotel is better - but for caravan users, travel elsewhere!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pene-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed two nights and while the decor is rather dated, it was clean and tidy. We dined at the restaurant one evening and the meals were delicious and generously portioned. The staff members we encountered were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasMelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
3.9 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#35 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
4.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wellington
BEST WESTERN Wellington
#21 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marksman Motor Inn
Marksman Motor Inn
#40 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newlands Court Motel
Newlands Court Motel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Gateway Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Gateway Motor Inn

Property: Capital Gateway Motor Inn
Address: 1 Newlands Road | Newlands, Wellington 6037, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Gateway Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Gateway Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing