We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Wellington, and one of my favourite hotels full stop.”
Review of Ohtel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohtel
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Pukekohe, New Zealand
2 reviews
“The best hotel in Wellington, and one of my favourite hotels full stop.”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This was my fourth or fifth stay here; I now try to stay at Ohtel whenever I can. I travel a lot for work, and have grown tired of soulless, chain hotels. In this respect, Ohtel is real breath of fresh air . . an oasis that makes being away from home so much more bearable.

Having lived in Wellington, I agree with the other reviewer who said that "Ohtel is Wellington personified in a hotel" - it has the same sort of character and vibe that makes Wellington so special.

Alan, the proprietor is a great host and the pride and passion for his hotel is evident. The location is great - Courtenay Place, Waitangi Park, Oriental Parade, Freyberg Pool are all just a stone's throw away. I have stayed in both Studio and Junior Suite and both were great . . though of course the Junior Suite is a real treat - an experience best shared I think! Both rooms have great decor, great bathrooms, and very comfy beds.

I look forward to staying again sometime soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haydenvink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    81
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
29
238
35
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Ohtel was everything it promised to be on its web site. Unique and sophisticated. So much better than the chains. Loved the location and views. Walking distance to cafes, restaurants, theatre - everything really. A special place wld definately recommend and go again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtmaunganuitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

A small hotel with 10 rooms. Retro Danish furniture stylish. Great helpful service from front desk.
Nice coffee in morning but no room service which is not a problem as there r so many great restaurants within 10 min walking distance like Martin Bodley or monsoon poon. U can walk everywhere from hotel. Get the top floor room as view of harbor!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nycazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We had a fantastic time at Ohtel. It was a special place which pretty much rolled straight out onto the golden sand of Oriental parade. Spacious and with a feeling of exclusivity - very chic. We will definitely return. Great location!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louissutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Found and booked this place browsing Wellington hotels on the net well before we left for our trip - we were not disappointed with our choice. Very quirky decor and uber trendy. Pretty well located (though difficult to park our car with a marathon running past on the weekend we were staying) for the tourist attractions. Those who like doors to the bathroom might prefer to look elsewhere though! We really loved the on demand music selection available having been stuck with local radio in the car for so long. Staff were friendly and helpful in suggesting some great local bars and restaurants to try. recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRich_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night in December and it is a very nice boutique hotel. We stayed in room number 10 and the room is a well-designed room with good views over the Marina. The service was a bit cold although not unfriendly. Only downside is that if you have a car, parking can be a bit problematic the parking spaces opposite the hotel are restricted to a max. of 2 hours, something which ended us with a parking ticket.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I travel to Wellington a lot with work and have stayed at most of the 'decent' hotels over the years, Ohtel is my favourite. The staff are always friendly and polite, the service is great, the rooms are decorated bright and airy, and the rooms at the front of the hotel have great views. I love the decor of this place, but it may not be to everyones taste.
As others have said, this is not a huge place so the atmosphere is more relaxed than the big chain hotels, but this does not affect the service. I prefer this to the atmosphere of the larger hotels.
The location is great, very close to town centre on oriental parade.
Being just outside the town centre its pretty quiet on a night, but within walking distance of the bars and restaurants.
Not all rooms have a bath so if this is important to you, best to check you get a suitable room. The sinks are a little small too.
You can park outside for free between 6pm/8am, otherwise they charge a valet fee ($20 i think)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabulous_Fabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Property: Ohtel
Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing