We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design, great location”
Review of Ohtel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ohtel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great design, great location”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

A very stylish place to stay. Only minutes walk to "everything", but nice and quiet. Staff were very friendly...even let me borrow their umbrella for the night!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_G1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    81
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
29
236
35
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Ohtel is one of those places you would always try and return to. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The Lobby has a fire and comfy chairs. the Wine and nibbles are delicious. The rooms are comfortable- beds soft, pillows fluffy, sheets crisp. The bath is deep. the shower with lots of pressure. NZ made products that smell delicious. It is not often that you can not fault a hotel but I couldn't find fault here. Also the location is great- close to Te Papa, a great shopping area, the waterfront and great resturants- Highly recommend Ambeli- brilliant chef and stunning food. Do not hesitate- Ohtel is a magical! Enjoy. Louise P.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This was a quirky hotel but fine. The entrance is small and we found a little off putting but the room was fine, modern and a good music selection. It is very centrally located not far from the National Museum and the ferry. The room was also very quiet considering its location. The staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. it is a perfectly located boutique hotel. Close to the waterfront, the night life and plenty of good places to eat. We thought we might be bothered by traffic and street noise as we were on the first floor. But we weren't.
The design and decor of the hotel is quirky and a point of difference. It would suit people who want a change from staying in large hotels but still want a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_friendnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this great little hotel for 4 nights in late March and 1 night over the Easter weekend. We loved the vintage scandinavian furniture and found all we required was supplied. The staff were friendly and helpful, the location terrific and everthing was within easy walking distance whether the Te Papa Museum or one of the many fantastic restaurants in this city . Weather can very mixed and it isn't known as Windy Wellington for nothing. However, we were even more blown away by the food in the restaurants - Wellington is truly a place for lovers of wonderful food, wine and coffee. We will most definitely return for another gastronimic fix and without question will be back at Ohtel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pudles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This hotel is small and perfectly formed! It's decor is on the quirky side; the room we stayed in was large, clean and comfortable. Some people may be put off by the fact that the bathroom / toilet is separated from the bedroom only by a curtain and partial glass screens. No problem for me and my wife, but not to everyone's liking. Not sure if all rooms are like that. The service was generally good, although we were greeted on arrival by a lady who looked as though she wanted to be some place else. Breakfast was in the 'foyer' of the hotel, in the window onto the main street, seemingly a limited choice and amount of food if you happened to arrive after the other guests had eaten.
Again, no great problem for us, we're not big breakfast eaters, but you should check this out if you like large breakfasts and like to relax awhile in comfortable surroundings while you eat. One or two other minor issues with service, and it is located on a main road, but it wouldn't put us off staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed there one night last week arriving very late from Sydney we checked in at 12am, the room was beautifully designed with music playing. The breakfast on the morning was great.
The location is like less than 10 minutes easy to find drive from airport, easy and if like us you are going on road trip New World is 150 metres away and the Museum and kids playground, harbour and nice walk just in front.
You can definitely see the owner loves this treasure little boutique place and all details and toiletries have been created to be clever.
The rooms are all different and ours was the smallest but still bigger than most of other hotels rooms.
We will come back

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Property: Ohtel
Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing