We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ohtel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohtel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

Travelled for work. Perfect alternative to the usual hotel. Great staff. Fabulous and thoughtful rooms - very spacious, comfortable and stylish. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henryswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    80
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
29
232
35
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. If you want something a little different to the usual big hotel rooms-this is it! I was looking for somewhere for my husband and i to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it lived up to my expectations! The service was wonderful but discreet.The place was full of retro furniture that the owner had collected over 2 years-so each room was slightly different. The color scheme was lovely and some nice design features in the bedrooms and lobby.
The location was excellent- although you dont look over the water- you look over to TePapa and the park. The only grumble I would have is that the traffic is a little noisy but with double-glazed windows does cut out alot of it.
I look forward to the next time I visit Wellington!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuAucklandNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

This is our third visit to Wellington, and I will never stay anywhere else! Ohtel is funky, fresh, very centrally located near Courtney Place, Oriental Bay. Modern and clean with a vintage feel. Great shower. Great amenities.
Free wireless internet. Great mini-bar. Across from New World if you prefer to buy your own. Lots of Wellington/NZ magazines with local information. Beautiful picture of Moeraki boulders in bathroom.
Plenty of space. Safe for valuables. Everything you need! Front desk will order taxis, make dinner bookings, give advice. We loved it and will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

I arrived at the Ohtel at about 10.30am and although my room was not supposed to be ready until 3pm, the woman at the front desk kindly allowed me to leave my luggage and took my mobile phone number so she could contact me when the room was ready.

The room was fantastic, very stylish and tidy with a great modern feel, with a more than adequately stocked mini-bar! The entertainment system (tv / music) is controlled by remote control, as is the air conditioning. Internet access is great ; free wi-fi or you can plug in for connection.

The hotel is in a great location too, over the road there is a little bit of beach, the rail station is a 10-15 minute walk away and you are no more than 5 minutes away from a wide range of cafes, restaurants and bars, while avoiding the noise.

The quayside makes for a lovely walk and there always seems to be lots going on.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

Have recently returned from a 5 day trip to Wellington and wanted to write a review on this Boutique hotel that I can thoroughly recommend.
Its called 'Ohtel' is only 10 amazing rooms on Oriental Parade opposite the bay walking distance to the CBD Courtney Place. Was totally impressed with the room layout - cool, modern funky interiors, newly designed bathroom with huge bathtub. Large selections of beautiful teas, free cool thongs! & retro furniture. There are other rooms also with ocean views, or balconys etc. They have a lovely fireplace on Reception entrance with great coffee and breakfast selections. Michelle was more than helpful with directions and where to go. Nothing was out of their way. The owner came by and booked us into a lovely seafood restuarant on the water and gave us maps to locate the wineries etc.

Will definately stay there again - could not fault this hotel. Oh maybe more bench space in the fabulous bathroom. Thanks guys, it really made our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

The Ohtel is truly a designer's "labor of love," with meticulous attention to detail and a refreshing style. However, unlike many boutique hotels which pay slavish attention to design in an effort to achieve the requisite level of hipness, Ohtel renders the same attention to detail to its primary mission: housing weary travelers. The extremely friendly staff provides warm and gracious hospitality on a par with the superb design features of the hotel. This place is memorable but is also convenient and well-located, near shopping and the amazing Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa). Meager gym onsite but the incredible Freyberg Pool and gym facility, with stunning views of Wellington Harbor, is a few steps away and offers free use to Ohtel guests - awesome place to work out. The Ohtel is one of the best boutique stays in the world. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Wellington.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

The bedroom itself was certainly good - the latest in good design and layout, fabulously quiet, stylishly and tastefully decorated, a superbly comfortable bed, and with the best technology available. However, simple things were a challenge. For instance, making a cuppa. The jug didn't fit under the tap so we had to poor cups of water into the jug, one by one. Then we discovered there were no tea bags. Coffee, yes. But no tea bags. The bathroom was also great, being spacious and absolutely modern and spotless - EXCEPT there was no privacy when using the loo because there is no door between the bedroom and bathroom. Yes. There was a curtain but no door. So you could hear everything. Inhibiting, I have to say. The reception area is also way too cluttered with too much furniture in it for the size available, and people end up pushing past each other. The mix of 60's furniture in the reception area makes it look like a student flat, rather than an example of the edgy modern design that works well in the rooms. The service was pleasant but slow, as only one person was serving at reception and at the cafe. Basically, it felt pretentious and over-rated. Not bad, but not good either. I have had far more comfortable stays in other places and wouldn't go back especially at the prices they charge.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavvySueNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Property: Ohtel
Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing