We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OH so cool :)”
Review of Ohtel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohtel
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OH so cool :)”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Super friendly, helpful staff, not snobby or pretentious and OH so handy :)
Lovely two person bath, Awesome mini bar selection of treats and goodies (loved the pinot noir), retro kiwiana themed decor and a darling cafe to boot. Parking service was no problem, wifi on, and our little balcony was all we needed to catch a glimpse of the sky,sea and city (in a typical howling wellington gale!)... I felt right at home & will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Sal,

Thanks for the review... Wind ? Put it this way, we never have a smog problem here !

Glad you found the great 'half' bottles of New Zealand wine we put in the minibar for you to enjoy.

See you soon !

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    81
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
29
238
35
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great place to stay the location as others have suggested was fabulous.
The premises and rooms were extremely clean, the beds were comfortable and the service was
outstanding. I would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend to friends

Room Tip: If you are after location this is the place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filo136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Filo... what a fabulous endorsement - Thanks so much !!

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Ohtel is really very well situated in the city. Near Oriental Parade, and an easy 5 minute walk to the great museum and all the other attractions on the waterfront. Also a very easy access to hiking up Mount Victoria.

The hotel was designed by an architect and it is very nicely appointed. I had a small room that did not have a bathtub, but i did see an empty room that did have a tub and it was a much nicer room than mine.

There were a few puzzling things though, that to my mind spoke to an aesthetic of form over function. Yes, the very small shelf in the the bathroom made it look sleek. But there really is not anyplace to put all your things. The towel rack is pretty, but there are no hooks upon which to hang up towels. And the very low sink looks appealing, but you end up banging your head into the shelf if you try to wash your face.

Then there was the two remotes necessary to work the television. One to turn it on and control the volume, the other to change the channels. In this day of universal remotes, that seems somewhat lazy of the owners not to upgrade their entertainment control system. There was a similarily confusing remote to work the air conditioning that I was never really able to work properly. I'm sure had i asked the front desk they could have helped me out, i just never got around to asking.

These are nits of course. Its just that i was left with a feeling that the ease and convenience to the guests was not necessarily the upmost priority on the part of the proprietors.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkeelarousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Punkeelarousse,

Glad you enjoyed the location of my place. The smaller bathrooms are a little light on shelf space, I have put up a few extra towel hooks though where I can.

I just upgraded the televisions not long before you stayed. The sets were supposed to be Wi-Fi enabled with all sorts of add-ons including the ability to have programmed remotes. I'm still working on getting these things operational - suffice to say JB HiFi "Commercial" and Philips New Zealand have been extremely unhelpful and if there were a TV purchase review website, they would have received a 1 out of 10 from me !

Anyway that's not your problem - and that's the frustrating thing as an operator, dealing with some of these suppliers - not existent customer service.

Travel safely, wherever you may go.

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is well located but a bit hard to spot (the entrance is very small). We had booked a Deluxe room (one of the cheaper options), but were pleasantly surprised upon entering. It was quite spacious and I liked the retro design. There were some very comfy chairs within the room as well as nice thick carpets. The minibar was well stocked.

I should state we were quite happy with our room overall, but I will point out a number of minor niggles:

- There are no towel rails. Very strange!

- The bathroom is open plan. Not that unusual nowadays, but this felt a bit too open (there is a curtain divider but I would have preferred something more substantial).

- The tap/sink were designed in such a way that we ended up spraying water onto our clothing on more than one occasion.

The common areas of the hotel were definitely not as nice as the room. The lift and corridor were very cramped. This is the opposite of what you usually would find, but as a guest you would rather have it this way around!

Wifi was provided free of charge, in contrast to many of the other places we stayed in around New Zealand. Service was quite friendly. I think we were served by the owner when we checked in. He seemed very keen to give us tips for our stay in Wellington and seemed a bit disheartened when we mentioned we already knew someone who was taking us around!

A fairly enjoyable stay on the whole. It is a bit expensive compared to other accommodation options in Wellington, but the rooms were of a high standard and I think the cost was justified, at least for the Deluxe room (I did notice that prices seemed to jump up considerably for some of the higher level rooms).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Staying here for my recent three-day business trip, I thoroughly enjoyed Ohtel's friendly service, Scandinavian decor, harbourside location, continental breakfast, strong espresso, free wifi and visually unique charm. Some might criticise their small fitness room; then again, there's a beautiful harbour right across the street for you to run along!

Room Tip: Although front-facing rooms might be more susceptible to street noise, you'll enjoy the brighter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phofmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Good to have you stay - and it was a toss-up whether to put in that small gym.. As you say, there is the waterfront as well as Freyberg Pool and Fitness Centre nearby.

Hope to see you back soon !

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

You could find better for half the price. $565 w no breakfast should be exceptional, but we experienced dirty windows, a sagging mattress, stained & dusty furniture, which made it look shabby - a poor attempt at a 60s retro style. The view is far from spectacular. The bathroom curtain divider offers scant privacy. It all looks & feels uncared for.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sossige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Clare,

Thanks for your feedback. Following the email you sent after your stay, we have decided to add more value to those bookings made at rack rate during special events by adding breakfast for two, a late midday check-out and complimentary upgrade if better rooms are available.

We had a staff meeting and as a team went around and polished all of the original furniture thoroughly - it definitely looks a lot better for it, and I have put in place a stricter regime for care of these original pieces.

We can't do much about the view I'm afraid - most guests think Wellington's Waitangi Park and Waterfront is pretty easy on the eye...

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you like finding and staying in different kinds of hotels, this is one for you. The location on Oriental Parade was super convenient, the hotel itself was absolutely clean, and our room was HUGE! Not your average hotel room, so it was a lot of fun just being there. 60's decor. The owner and staff were helpful and pleasant. Parking is free from 6 pm to 9 am, so we planned our days accordingly and did our car travel in the middle of the day.

Room Tip: We stayed in a back room. No view, but the view is just outside the front door. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Jane,

Thanks for your positive feedback. Our rooms come in a variety of sizes and aspects, so be sure to contact us directly by phone or email if you are seeking a particular feature; large/small, view/privacy, bath, deck or something quieter...

Regards

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Property: Ohtel
Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing