We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohtel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ohtel
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Funky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lovley small boutique hotel, great lcoation. Very funky. Not so sure about the curtain instead of a door to the bathroom, but anyway... Breakfast could be improved but all in all a great stay, staff and owners very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi Alexandra,

Thanks for the review. Please email me any ideas you may have to improve our breakfast offering.

Travel safely,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    80
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
29
231
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights recently to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. I couldn't recommend this more highly for a couples break. The rooms are beautifully appointed and have complimentary Wi-Fi. The bed was very comfortable and all linen was good quality.

There is a cafe/bar in the lobby - while we didn't have breakfast or a drink here, it looked good. The location is also very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeM1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi Mike,

Ohtel is great for couples, the relaxed spacious rooms with King-sized beds are a great place to spend time with someone special. We can organise; chocolates, flowers, bubbles or a massage to take your stay to the next level.

Call us to arrange anything you would like to have in the room on arrival.

Hope to see you again next time you cross the 'dutch' or 'deetch'...

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

When you go away to a hotel you expect a certain level of service, ambiance and luxury for your money, often though it doesn't happen. But I can honestly say that the Ohtel has exceeded all my expectations.
We were were there for 4 nights and I assumed we were the only people in the hotel as we did not run into or hear anyone the whole time. Lo and behold it was apparently a full house! So noise, even traffic noise, is not an issue.
The bed...fabulous. The rooms were even larger and more elegant in person. The attention to detail in all things jshooshy was so entertaining and different from your run of the mill hotel.
I loved the fact that most of the furniture was indeed retro and reused for its lines, decor factor and groove factor. Even the crockery was vintage. You had everything you could need to make your stay enjoyable, even the bathroom cabinet was stocked with items you may forget to pack! Even the mini bar was cool!
The staff, including the owner, are very relaxed, helpful and easy going. Yet all our needs were met with enthusiasm and speed.

If you want to stay somewhere unique, for not much more than you would pay for a regular hotel then this is it. 1 min walk from Courtney Place but miles away when your in your sanctuary of a room over-looking the harbor and park. I will definitely be back! LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms...all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi Emma,

Thanks for the detailed (and complementary) review, had to laugh at the "all things jshooshy" comment.

Speaking of which, we are just in the throes of getting even more 'jshoosh' with our new Philips HD LCD Internet TV's + some extra content.

Stand by...

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here so that we can get to Te Papa quickly. It was walking distance from the hotel.
If you're not already aware, Wellington is a very 'windy' city. Very Windy! This hotel is near Te Papa and the bay front restaurants are also walking disctance. Although, depending on where you're you may not be able to walk in that howling wind! :-)

The restaurant facilities are limited (e.g. no restaurant, pool, late hours, etc.), but it does have a continental breakfast in the mornings. The parking is on the street, so be prepared to drive around a bit to find parking, after unloading in front of the door. Also, I don't think any room can see the Bay directly across either.

Facility is clean and well appointed with contemporary fittings like apple-tv and other apple based and router based connectivity. However, I couldn't make it work. They don't have large family rooms, so we got two adjacent room across the hallway

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Territories, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hip and fun! This hotel has it all. Incredible staff, super rooms and great amenities. Loved the location. Good beds and fine folk. What more could anyone want? Retro cool place with great touches including decent morning coffees and oh so close to the incredible Te Papa museum.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glowach_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

stayed here for a coupla nights and rate this place highly, particularly the service standards, these people just couldn't do enough to please, plus the rooms were well posh too, well done and thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently spent three nights at Ohtel with our two children while visiting a relative in Wellington. we fell in love with boutique hotels again after quite a few years going only to big 5 star operations. The rooms were of a great size with quirky and lovingly curated mid-century furniture. The beds were super comfy and the bathrooms clean and spacious with calming colours and photography. Alan and his staff were wonderful hosts and the simple but tasty breakfast downstairs was a wonderful way to start the day. Great coffee too. I have stayed at quite a few hotels in Wellington for business and pleasure but this will be my first choice from now on.

Room Tip: the balcony over looking the water in the suite was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Property: Ohtel
Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing