We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inadequate”
Review of Ohtel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohtel
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Room was dark and the bathroom did not have a door the closing was a heavy curtain you likely would see in a major theater production. In the bathroom should you want it use bubble bath, says etc their was a card with our e tag if NZ$ 9 to 10 each. Amazing I have ever seen that in any hotel.

Service was so so. Arrived and asked if we needed help with the luggage and the person took the smallest bag and left us with everyone else. Needed to contact my office and while allowed to use the office computer felt challenged with the question why didn't I carry my own.

I am sure there are much much better choices in Wellington.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SusanBettyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi SusanBetty,

Thanks for taking the time to point out a few of the key differences of our hotel form other regular accommodation. Our quieter rear facing rooms don't have same expansive water and park outlook as our front facing ones, so if this is a priority for you let us know at the time of booking.

We found having a loan PC difficult to maintain and most guests, (especially corporates) have their own tablet, laptop or hand held device to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi, so we decided not to continue with it.

I think I have covered this off with previous reveiwers, but just to reiterate, our bathrooms have a heavy curtain to separate them from the sleeping space - (ref. photos). Extra public toilets are available on the ground floor if required.

Finally, there are plenty of free-bees in the rooms - from Wi-Fi to Jandals, Note pads to sewing kits, Movies, Music, Tea, coffee etc. Standard amentities; Soap, Shampoo, Body wash, Conditioner and Moisturiser are all complimentary. We have a couple of extra luxury bath items for sale which are optional for guests to pay for and use as they wish.

Kind regards

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 409 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Alan has designed a beautiful hotel - it looks great outside and in. The retro furniture and accessories take you back…it all works beautifully. Ohtel is very convenient for exploring Wellington and the views were great from our top floor room. Fabulous bathroom too. The service was friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We loved it! Oh and the fold out ironing board was ingenious. Never seen anything like that before.

Room Tip: Our top floor room was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindapindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to find this fabulous Hotel in the perfect location. What sets Ohtel apart from other aspiring boutique hotels is the meticulous attention detail in the mid century Scandinavian Decor that we all remember well - right down to the coffee cups. The room was spacious and comfortable. The stairway and passage ways were not forgotten - sympathetically adorned with retro bits and pieces. The location couldn't be better - an easy walk to everywhere, especially a great choice of restaurants. Security was top notch. Alan was the perfect hotelier - full of advice with an engaging sense of humour. I can highly recommend Ohtel and will definitely stay here when next in Wellington. Thanks Ohtel!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5 - a great space with a little balcony to catch glimpses of Oriental Parade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ohtel is a wonderful and well-designed boutique hotel in a perfect location. It’s proximity to many things in Wellington make it easy to navigate by foot. Our room was lovely and very comfortable. We loved the décor. Michelle and Alan were extremely helpful and accommodating.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in this fantastic funky little hotel, with brillant service, super spacious rooms,. It is full of character and a little querky. Fantastic location and very helpful and friendly staff .... will definitely be going back. Would highly recommend for the single female travelling alone as super security and only 10 rooms.

Room Tip: Have to have a room with a baloncy - I think this only applies to suites but well worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Kiwi imagination has to be one of New Zealand's top attractions (which is saying a lot in this land of wonders), and nowhere is this more palpable than within Ohtel's mod walls.

This intimate boutique hotel is the perfect home-away-from-home for anyone with a lust for things mid-century. A stay here is like a luxurious, Star-Trek-style trip back in time: you get to experience the modernist mood and the teak furniture, but you can bring WiFi and a flat-screen TV with you.

In addition to truly trippy interior design, Ohtel offers typical Kiwi efficiency and friendliness. Owner Alan (architect by day, hotelier by night) and his incredibly knowledgeable and helpful staff do everything they possibly can to make you comfortable and point you towards the best that Wellington has to offer, whether you're looking for great eats or a show to knock your new merino socks off (special thanks to Michelle and Allan who were on duty during my stay, and to Loubna and Rose who kept things sparkly clean).

I booked into Ohtel for four nights, but felt so at-home and so happy here that I ended up staying for twenty-six. Wellington itself charmed me, certainly, but the family at Ohtel were the main draw. If you're looking for "that special place," where you'll get an insider's knowledge of the city, comfort, and an experience in itself, you can't do better than Ohtel.

If you do choose to indulge here, do be aware that the rooms are open-plan in the extreme: there is nothing separating you and your roomie from one-anther’s bathroom sounds but some heavy-duty curtain. This is fine if you’re on your own, of course, but some special scheduling may be required if you’re traveling two or more together.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths, so specify if you like a good soak at the end of a long touring day. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Ohtel for 4 night during our last holiday and really highly recommend it. The interior design, rooms layout, service and location are just incredible. But what makes this hotel so special is that it actually has a soul. You see my husband and I love traveling but we hate big impersonal hotels. At the same time, we re very demanding and often find it difficulty to find the right balance between charming yet luxurious. Well we can truly say that Ohtel has both. The room we stayed at (room 6) was spacious, beautifully decorated, with a balcony overlooking the waterfront. There is amazing attention to detail like a built-in iron board, and a well equipped mini-bar. Alan, the owner, is super friendly and helpful and makes great coffees! He gave us lots of tips on where to go in Wellington from cultural discoveries to where to eat and where to shop for truly authentic New Zealand art. We will definitely stay there next time we're in Wellington.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuleNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
786 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $134 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing