We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great hotel!”
Review of Ohtel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ohtel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Harker Heights, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great hotel!”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed in one of the suites for one night. It was wonderful. Such a cool boutique hotel and the bathroom was awesome- really enjoyed the heated floors! The hotel has a waterfront view and is within walking distance to Cuba Mall and all of the good shopping and dining in Wellington.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    81
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
31
238
36
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This is a highly evolved boutique hotel.
The rooms are large, spacious and comfortable.
The staff are available, aware and accommodating.
It's accommodation like this that gives Wellington it's reputation as an exciting and sophisticated city. The hotel has great vistas and sunlight. There are many enjoyable food and beverage options within walking distance.
Ohtel delivers on every level. The mini bar is interesting, the bed and linen are nice, the bathrooms vast and the staff are acutely aware of an appropriate level of interaction.
We need one of these hotels in every interesting city in the world.....

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DSKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ohtel. This is a quirky little hotel with a stylish and spacious interior. Good location. Not so sure about the 'no door' bathrooms, but must admit we got used to it eventually. Our room only had a small window with no real outlook but the payback was that the room was incredibly quite resulting in a great nights sleep. Friendly and personalised service from the staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Ohtel is one of the most enjoyable boutique hotels we've ever stayed at. It's a quirky, comfortable place furnished with mid-century modern furniture and accessories. The location can't be beat -- it's virtually on the waterfront, and across from the fantastic Te Papa museum. It's within easy walking distance to everything in the central business district and is only a few blocks down the street from the beautiful Embassy Theatre. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. It's a very welcoming and easygoing place; feels like home. We've now had 2 visits to Ohtel and will stay there whenever we're in Wellington!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel when we first arrived, and found all the amenities to be of top quality. As we were flying back from Wellington to Australia, we booked our last night there as well. There was a bit of a muddle - and our booking had not been listed. Allan, the host, saw the look of disappointment on our faces and immediately organised accommodation at the Museum hotel at the same rate, absorbing any extra costs on his behalf. We were also presented with a beautiful bottle of Pinot Noir as a way of apology. Great service and thank you.
Would recommend this hotel for couples - great vibe...

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pcdodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We booked at the last minute and our a lot of hotels were full. We stayed here without knowing anything about it. The hotel was really stylish, almost like a hotel in Greenwich Village. The staff was so friendly that my husband and I found ourselves spending time in the lobby. We travel all over the world and this is one of the best hotels I can recall.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Had a great time at the ohtel. Wonderful rooms and an absolute A+ location!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairewitteveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtel

Property: Ohtel
Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing