We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy to miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crazy Horse Steak House - CLOSED

Crazy Horse Steak House
Price range: $21 - $63
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Crazy to miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

If you love steak as it should only be cooked, then this restaurant is a must. Don't be fooled by the name, up-market decor and service, this was a unexpectedly great experience with melt in the mouth beef.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    39
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Want a thick steak?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Crazy Horse is a special occasion restaurant. It is one of the few places we've found where you can get a thick ribeye (called 'eye fillet' here in NZ) on the bone. It will be cooked to your specifications, will be tender and very flavorful. Nothing less than top grade meat here. The side dishes are also culinary delights, served in reasonable portions.
There is a good wine selection as well as a few cocktails, a rarity here in NZ.
The staff is attentive and friendly.
This is our #1 go-to restaurant for a special meal out in Wellington.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_Stories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had a late lunch and was just looking for something light to eat for dinner and something near my hotel. The staff suggested this restaurant so I went to see what they had. The food was very good and the wait staff was friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderer919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A steakhouse doesn't get any better than this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

A steakhouse doesn't get any better than this. Great selection of steaks expertly cooked to absolute perfection, great sides (including Wagyu fat potatoes - yum yum yum). Good wine list. Good beers. Lovely staff, who clearly love their work. Great experience. Cant fault it. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Would absolutely visit again, and so should you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pommie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“queenly treatment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My son treated me for my birthday @ Crazy Horse :). From the start till the end of the evening I was treated royally (they knew that it was my birthday).. The service & wine suggestion were superb, food was excellent & to
summarise; an evening to remember :) ENJOY!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EldaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Horse Steak House also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing