We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of JJ Murphy & Co

JJ Murphy & Co
Ranked #232 of 911 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average Pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Went out to lunch with some co-workers, fairly good amount of room in the bar area. Ordering was fairly efficient at the bar and the food came out quickly. I asked for a salad instead of fries as a side to my chicken burger which cost me a extra $2. The salad was quite small and just lettuce. Guess that is what you get for trying to eat healthy at a pub though!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    66
    25
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Thanks for learning how to make Irish coffees for us - really appreciated - and also for the great breakfast - will definitely be back next time we're in Wellington

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 79SarahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Standard Grubby Faux Irish - Wonderful Meals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

You have seen a hundred pubs like JJ Murphys in cities all around the world. This faux Irish is not different from any of the others save to say that the meals are huge and exceptionally good value for money. If I am ever in Wellington again I will surely be lunching at JJ Murphys.

Helpful?
Thank GallopingGourmet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Favourite casual lunch place in Wellington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We regularly have lunch here at the weekend, when in Wellington - most recently during Wellington 7's weekend, when the people watching opportunities were endless. Food is always good, service is prompt, the staff are friendly, the music is pleasant and not so loud that conversation is impossible, and there are large screens for those who are inclined to watch sport while eating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge Tasty Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The Sunday pork roast is enormous, and delicious. Great atmosphere and wonderful location with an upstairs balcony. Outdoor furniture is unstable and a little unnerving however.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bkippax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ Murphy & Co also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to JJ Murphy & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing