We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the Best!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Versailles

Cafe Versailles
Ranked #26 of 372 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just the Best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This our favourite restaurant in Tauranga!! We have never been disappointed. The food is delicious, cooked and presented to perfection, and great service. We love the character and ambience of Cafe Versailles. Highly recommend you to try this one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    47
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Food was tasty and portions suitable. When we asked for guidance in wine choice we were given great help from the french waitron/owner

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MandyJKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were greeted by untrained teenagers posing as waitress. Most of the French wines were not available, then when the kitchen hand in a dirty apron tried to open our bottle he broke the cork(he did explain no one knew how to open a corked bottle of wine). He then managed to pull the rest of the cork out and handed my wife the bottle and walked off. We poured some wine into a two glasses and they were full of cork dust and filings. We asked the waitress to either decanter the wine(which no one in the restaurant had heard of) or replace the bottle. She took the bottle and poured glasses to the kitchen where we could easily hear arguing over what to do about this situation, with a women who worked in the kitchen talking very loudly that we should just drink around the floating cork pieces and stop being fussy. This lady made us fell so unwelcome that we just wanted to finish the main that arrived and leave, which we were unable to do so because we felt sickened by the experience. Thanks for ruining our 10th wedding anniversary.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food except for the belly pork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We enjoyed dining at Cafe Versailles and between the five of us ordered a wide range of entrees, mains and desserts. All were excellent except for the belly pork ( as also noted by an earlier reviewer ) - the belly pork was a very generous sized serving but the meat was dry and the 'crackling' was chewy

Service was initially a little slow but then was faultless

Would return but would not order the belly pork

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our 1st visit for over 6 months and having been greeted well we read the menu and it was exactly the same including the special. My friend ordered the scallops,and for me prawns, when they arrived the scallops were accompanied with Pastis and it was pink and we questioned the fact that it had been watered down as it is a strong drink, the duck was not special and the beef casserole allegedly cooked for many hours seemed to be that the meat was poured into the sauce just before being served, the waitress worked well but the food was appalling and when we paid the chef stood there to supervise the till but did not say one word to us, in the past it has been a good restaurant and is not now

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Versailles also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Cafe Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing