We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the besy Indian in town”
Review of Talk of India

Talk of India
Ranked #13 of 390 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“the besy Indian in town”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Pradid and his lovely wife ensure you are welcomed on arrival and look after you well
the food is always excellent my favourite and I dont need to ask is the Beef Madrass the chicken with corriander and mint entree is outstanding well cooked and soooo tasty
well done team

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lampardTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    61
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly & Tasty”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went for dinner based on the reviews here on TA and expected it to be very expensive but quite the opposite was true. At $30 each for the "banquet" we enjoyed 3 entrees and 4 delicious curries. The owner Pradeep made himself known to us and I inquired if the restaurant had changed hands recently (saw this on an earlier review on TA) and this certainly is not the case. At the end of the meal he gave us 2 complimentary old tawny ports and he came over with an old diary for us to record our birthdays and addresses in - so he can send out our complimentary meal on your birthday vouchers. A most enjoyable evening and we wish Pradeep every success he deserves in his business. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rharri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hot Indian”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you like a good curry, then you will like Talk of India. A chance visit - and I found one o the best curry houses I've been to, since I left England.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2227
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best part of the day”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have been once before but this time we were very late after a fairly sad and difficult day.The owner welcomed us with a smile and we really appreciated the meal,although I suspect they were just about to close. Service was good,friendly, helpful and we really enjoyed the meal. The food was delicious and served promptly. At the end of the meal the owner brought us a glass of special port on the house.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mama2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

When I viewed the menu, I was concerned that the prices were a bit steep, but after eating the food, I was happy with the food and thought it good value for the money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talk of India also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Talk of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing