We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great FOOD; Great SERVICE”

Takara Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 390 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Authentic Japanese Cuisine. Courteous and Cheerful Service. Takara Serves Happiness and Value!
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great FOOD; Great SERVICE”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

On a beautiful March Monday we selected Takara for lunch. Other restaurants were typically Monday quiet in fact hardly any diners, but Takara was humming with happy people!

The welcome was as warm as the sunny day and we had a great table looking out over the view – restaurants should never under-estimate just how much a delightful waitress adds to the whole dining experience.

On the recommendation from a birthday party group at an adjacent table we selected the Takara Lunch and the Teppan Yaki – great choices and both different. Any thought that this was a tasting platters quickly disappeared when our meals arrival quickly – faultless service and delicious food.

For drinks we had the House White – a very good Chardonnay; and Cranberry Juice.

Our lunch bill for 2 dishes & 2 drinks was $46.00 which was good value of the quality of the meal.

We can certainly recommend Takara Japanese Restaurant as a great place to eat on the Strand in Tauranga

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable review, Winetourist!

Thank you for the detailed reveiw. We are very impressed with your review,
Thank you for enjoying Takara Lunch, Teppan Yaki, House Chardonnay and Cranberry Juice.
Thank you for loving Takara's service and uploading the delicious Takara food.
We are always thankful to customers and we are very delighted to serve them.
We will always do our best to exceed customers' expectation.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon at Takara when you are visiting Tauranga.
Thank you so much once again.

Arigato Gozaimsu.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    82
    26
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fabulous japanese meal”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

You can not get better value for your money, this is a jolly place, fantastic service and quick, yummy food and beautiful setting!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajeraferoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable review, Viajeraferoz!

Thank you for enjoying Takara's food and service.
We were delighted to serve you.
We will put our best effort in to make customers fully satisfied!!!
We are looking forward to seeing you again when you are visiting Tauranga again.

Thank you so much.
Arigato Gozaimasu.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

They do good Japanese food but too pricey and they have never been friendly at all. They might be proud of what they can and know but not good at showing or sharing with their customers

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJFoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable review, LJFoodlover!

First of all, we apologise the inconvenience that you have experienced at Takara.
We always put our best effort in to make customers happy when they are dining at Takara and sometimes we cannot make every customers happy. We apologise for that.
We agree that we are proud of what we are doing(do our best to produce the best service and food) and delivering happiness to customers' table.

If you are coming back to Takara, we will do our best to exceed your expectation.
Thank you very much again and looking forward to seeing you at Takara again.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dishes,”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Korean owners who do a good job for Japanese dishes, owners spent time in Japan learning.
Very good taste for New Zealanders, The service is special, you are made to feel very welcome, special treat for birthdays.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your valuable review, John A!

Thank you for enjoying Takara's service and food.
Thank you for recognising our best effort to make customers fully satisfied when they are dining at Takara. We are truly thankful.
Yes! The owners themselves are very familiar with Japanese culture, professional in Japanese cuisine, visiting Japan regularly to learn new things and cultivating their knowledge about Japan, and work with qualified Japanese chefs and staff to make sure custoemers' experience at Takara is authentic and full of happiness.

Thank you for loving our special birthday celebration and we are always brainstorming the good ways to exceed customers' expectations when they are dining at Takara.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon and once again, huge THANK YOU to you.

Arigato-gojaimasu.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We really enjoyed our meals at Takara Restaurant. The food was great and the service excellent. The location is perfect close to the CBD and waterfront. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geeswayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable review, geeswayn!

Thank you for enjoying Takara food, service and location.
We are very thankful that your experience at Takara was great.
The new lunch menu is here and we hope to see you soon again.

We will always do our best to make you happy when you are dining at Takara.
Thank you so much once again.
Arigato-gojaimasu.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takara Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Takara Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing