We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”

Takara Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 377 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Japanese Cuisine. Courteous and Cheerful Service. Takara Serves Happiness and Value!
Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We really enjoyed our meals at Takara Restaurant. The food was great and the service excellent. The location is perfect close to the CBD and waterfront. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geeswayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable review, geeswayn!

Thank you for enjoying Takara food, service and location.
We are very thankful that your experience at Takara was great.
The new lunch menu is here and we hope to see you soon again.

We will always do our best to make you happy when you are dining at Takara.
Thank you so much once again.
Arigato-gojaimasu.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    81
    25
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

takara is my favourite restaurant in Tauranga. I go at least once a month, the food is beautiful and the service and special treatment to each and every customer is amazing. The new staff are doing well since the move to a bigger venue last year. My kids loooove the food, and Rachel always makes us all feel welcome and cared for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable review, Becky C!

Thank you for loving Takara's service and food.
We are always delighted to serve your family and we love you.
We will always try our best to make you happy when you are dining at Takara.
We always consider that how could we make customers happy.

Thank you for appreciate our consideration and effort.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon at Takara again.
Have a great weekend.

Arigato-Gojaimasu.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My family celebrated my fathers 60th birthday at Takara. The food was excellent, the service was great and the birthday cake presentation was very well done and hilarious to boot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable review, Josh W!

Thank you for celebrating your father's 60th birthday at Takara.
We were delighted to serve your family.
Thank you for enjoying Takara's food and service.

We will always strive for the best service and food.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you so much again.
Arigato Gojaimasu.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were unsure about trying Japanese food but were so pleasantly surprised. The food in Takara is superb and so is the service. Definitely worth a visit. We'll be regulars here now.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your valuable review, Sam C!

Thank you for enjoying Takara's service and food.
Thank you for your effort and decision to try Japanese cuisine and we are very happy that you have enjoyed it thoroughly.

We are looking forward to seeing you again with great service and food.
Thank you very much.
Arigato gojaimasu.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

When we went before Xmas there was only a very select few things we could order at 2.00 in the afternoon the Language barrier was very difficult food was so average presentation poor and we felt like we were an annoyance even though there were only 3 tables of customers it wasn't fresh I'd not bother going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Motago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable review, Motago!

We apologise any inconvenience that you have experienced at Takara.
We never treat our customers as an "annoyance" but if you felt that way, we are very sorry about that.
We are so thankful to our customers.
We use fresh ingredients everyday and we always strive for the best service and food.

Please come back to Takara and try our service and food once more.
We will do our best to make you happy.

Thank you so much.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takara Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Takara Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing