We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Restaurant!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Takara Japanese Restaurant

Takara Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 373 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Japanese Cuisine. Courteous and Cheerful Service. Takara Serves Happiness and Value!
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We were a large group celebrating a birthday. The food was delicious. The service was outstanding. The whole experience started from the minute we walked in with such friendly Japanese greetings. The staff are amazing and go out of their way to ensure a great experience. The restaurant itself is very nicely decorated without being over the top. At the end of the night they came out with a truly unique birthday surprise which was most unexpected and a wonderful finish to a fantastic night. We will certainly return!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable review, Chrissy B!

Thank you very much for enjoying the birthday night.
It was a joy to celebrate your group member's birthday and serve your group on the night.
We are very thankful to have nice customers.
We know customers are crucial asset for Takara and we value you.

Thank you so much for appreciating our best effort to make customers' happy.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon at Takara.
We will try to make you even happier when you are dining at Takara again.

Have a great weekend.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    79
    25
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bento Box lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I called in here on our North Island road trip & were very glad we did. The strip that the restaurant was on had plenty of dining options so pretty lucky we picked this one mainly because the food being eaten by the people on the outside tables looked so good & on the sunny day, eating alfresco definitely appealed.
We both chose different bento boxes which were packed with yummy food & good variety. At $15-$17 they were great value. Service was really friendly & the staff seemed to love being at work!
Will definitely go again next time we're in Tauranga.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable review, Dee K!

Thank you for having lunch during your road trip with your daughter.
Hope you enjoyed the road trip and the bonding time with daughter.
Thank you for loving Takara.
Takara staff are always appreciate customers' love and passionate about serving quality service and love to customers.

We are looking forward to seeing you again when you are visiting Tauranga.
We will make you happy again.
Thank you so much.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Top Japanese Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of the best Japanese restaurants we've been to in this part of the world and outside of Tokyo! Authentic food, superb service and great atmosphere!
Not sure what the agenda of the reviewer below was saying they thought the tap water had been doctored to 'encourage' people to buy drinks - we had tap water (as well as wine!) and there was absolutely nothing wrong with it! Also, having met the lovely owners of Takara (husband is head chef and wife front of house) I couldn't imagine them doing this! They couldn't do enough for us when we visited - if we lived closer (we're back in the UK now) we would definitely frequent this restaurant on a regular basis, as good Japanese restaurants are few and far between!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable review, Maria186390!

We really appreciate your love for Takara.
Thank you for enjoying Takara's food and service. We will not forget your encouragement and love.
We will always strive for the best quality food and service to exceed customers' satisfaction.
We are looking forward to seeing you and your husband when you are visiting Tauranga again.
We will wait for you with full of happiness.
Once again, thank you so much.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Water tasted like chlorine.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although the meal I had here was okay, and I mean okay, definitely not anything special, I ordered water to drink as I always do as I object to paying outrageous amounts for fizzy sodas that rot my teeth and add 50% to the cost of my meal. When the water arrived it tasted like it had bleach tipped directly into it! My friend and I agreed that this was not normal and had been doctored in some way to "encourage" us to order drinks which we did as the "tap water" they served us was undrinkable! Won't be back as there are plenty of nicer Japanese restaurants to choose from in Tauranga.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WifeyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, 오너 at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable review, WifeyNZ!

Thank you for your feedback about the taste of water.
Your review is based on your visit to Takara on 2012 and Takara has been changed a lot.
We only serve filtered water and there is no 'tap water'.

Please come and try Takara's food and service.We are now relocated to 97 The Strand.
We promise you that we will deliver the superior service and exquisite Japanese cuisine to your table.

Thank you very much and we are looking foward to seeing you at Takara.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

You have to check out Takara's new premises on the Strand. Previously Takara was tucked away around the corner and was one of the Bay's best kept secrets - now the secret is out. Rachel and 'Chef' - thank you soo so much again for a wonderful experience. Again you made us feel extra special and always spoil us. Your food and your service is just superb - now you have new premises that are just as fantastic and vibrant. CONGRATULATIONS and every SUCCESS for the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Y, Owner at Takara Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable review, Cathy A!

Thank you so much for enjoying Takara's service and food.
We will try our best to make you happy everytime you are dining at Takara.
We love to spoil you.. :)

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Thanks a lot again for your great love and best wishes for Takara.

Takara Serves Happiness :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takara Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Takara Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing