We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost it's Purpose” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Cottage

Somerset Cottage
Ranked #67 of 372 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lost it's Purpose”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We used to love having a special dinner here but very disappointed at a recent family gathering. Service disinterested, no idea what fish was as salmon ordered came out as snapper! Staff drinking in bar before clients left gave feeling that it was more about them than us. No flair in menu. All a bit tired & passé like most of the patrons. Needs a major shake-up!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Nontendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    29
    16
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely elegant treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Somerset would have to be one of the best restaurants in New Zealand. We know about Rick and Annes passion for food and their attention to finding high quality ingredients that go into the meals as we attend the Cook Schools that they run. We can be assured that we can have our favourites when we go or something else new and delicious. New combinations are worth trying although I only ever have the pate and the pickled orange.
Service is very good and discrete and we are treated like friends when we arrive.
Somerset quality is worth a few extra dollars as it is way above others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hard to find the very discrete sign for out of town visitors on a dark night. A warm welcome inside and seating in a secluded space, of which there are several such spaces which makes for a quieter atmosphere than many restaurants. Good selection of wines and a satisfactory interesting menu but all rather pricey. The meals were very well presented and looked attractive. The waitresses were attentive .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Relaxed Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is fine dining without any "stuffiness". The atmosphere is relaxed in this iconic Tauranga restaurant. Somerset is located on Bethlehem Road in the suburb of Bethlehem about 5 minutes drive from the Tauranga City centre. This is one of the longest established restaurants in the Bay of Plenty but still the quality remains high.
My wife and I ate here to celebrate a special occasion. The menu includes some dishes that have been nominated by customers as signature dishes that cannot be removed. My wife chose the sautéed calamari favourite (one of the signature dishes) while I opted for something that sounded a bit different (mussels and tomato soup). I was very pleased with my tasty dish.
For mains we had the oven roasted duck with vanilla kumara mash with orange and the oven baked chicken with figs. They list menu options for the day in addition to the dishes that must remain.
We shared toffee date dessert to finish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“5-Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lovely cosy ambience in an old cottage in Bethlehem. Anassuming from the exterior, the service, food and wine are amazing. Although one of the more expensive places to eat in Tauranga, it is also my favourite and is well worth every cent. Definitely my first choice on special occassions.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brutasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somerset Cottage also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Somerset Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing