We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine tasting”

Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant
Reserve a Table
Ranked #15 of 487 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cellar door - offering tasting & wine sales - 10am to 5pm daily. Restaurant - indoor/outdoor a la carte dining - from 9.30am for brunch & lunch (Wed-Sun) Dinner by reservation
Reviewed April 8, 2019

We had a good time tasting some of the great wines on offer here.
We were 2 experienced tasters and novice and the experience was pitched just right - very professional.
Good knowledge of the wine and, of course, good wines also.
The character of the place has changed a bit over the years with the subdivisions going up around it - hang in there!

Took a few home, some very good specials for end of last season.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WayneK160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 409 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

We were late to expect lunch , but we were still able to be served, - and delicious it was! We will be returning before we leave. The staff were delightful, we very much appreciated being squeezed in at the end of service. After lunch we wandered into the tasting area, again great staff, - and wine. A case of which is on its way to Oz!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank mangetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

Great Sunday Brunch outside at Mills Reef on Sunday. Exceptional service, good prices and smooth coffee. Large selection of gluten free meals and very helpful for celiacs. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank fragmented5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

We didnt have a great experience last time we came but today the service was amazing from the maitre de not sure of his name to our waitress Francesca who was amazing and so on to it, food was also amazing.
Fern and Kevin Boys

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank KevinB5747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019 via mobile

Arrived at 14.30 ( placed open till 15.30) waiter says that chef going home soon and will not cook main dishes. Plus lazy waiter. Don’t go there. Peace

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 4_fourfour_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I1891UJlindap, Owner at Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Hello Kirill,
We are sorry to learn of your experience yesterday. You arrived at 2.50pm and were told very nicely that that we could offer you a selection of 3 platters plus drinks as our kitchen closed at 2.30pm.
Unfortunately, that did not suit you. As a result of your frustration, we will for the months of February and March keep our full menu available until 3pm now. It is also unfortunate that Trip Advisor have recently restricted the information we can give in terms of opening hours. We have our tasting room offering free tastings until 5pm 7 days a week and yet are only able to give one closing time for the complex. We have chosen 3.30 pm as platters and wines are still available until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing