We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbourside

Harbourside
Ranked #18 of 372 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

One of the more "upmarket" gourmet experiences in Tauranga.
The food is exceptional, (and accordingly so are the prices). Well worth the cost and great for special occassions.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank brutasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    171
    63
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to harbourside for my wife's birthday and two friends, got seated by a less than enthusiastic maitre d'. We waited 30 minutes to get our order taken and someone came only after I got up to ask if someone could look after us. They had about seven staff and weren't very busy with a number if empty tables . Orders were taken and the entrees arrived in good time. The salads were nice, although I was disappointed they had used iceberg lettuce. The mains arrived and that's when disappointment turned to severe annoyance. The meat in my wagu burger was overdone and the fries were so dark and crunchy they were pretty much inedible. My son's supposed medium rare eye fillet turned out medium to well (on a bed of five green beans - for 38 dollars, not happy) and his fries were overdone too. My wife's pasta was bland. Desserts were also less than impressive (tiny portions, nothing special). It is time large, well established restaurants such as this one started caring about the experience they offer their patrons instead of resting on their laurels. I used to enjoy harbourside when the Hoggs owned it. Not the same establishment unfortunately.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanaPliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious meals, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We dined as a party of four and despite being told when making the reservation that a waterside table was not available we were pleasantly surprised on arrival to be seated waterside. Our waitress was very attentive, the food was fabulous (highlight - crispy duck spring rolls and the to die for mushroom sauce accompanying the eye fillet steak), and the unexpected birthday brownie complete with candle was brilliant. Thank you from this birthday girl. Harbourside never fails to be a hit - we will keep coming back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi04NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Good selection of food,well priced,attentive but not obtrusive service.Been several times with consistent service and food quality on all occasions

Helpful?
1 Thank Mattpaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This restaurant has a great atmosphere, food, service - all tops. The menu is so varied, there's something here for everyone. And Sunday nights you can take your own wine - a little bonus! Our group had a variety of food & all very happy. Such a nice place to spend an evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourside also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing