We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet as” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Academy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn Academy
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Sweet as”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed the one night.
Noise from the main road was hardly noticeable, we couldn't fault the room, it was clean, tidy and well maintained, perfect for our needs. Only 1 gripe and that was for whatever reason channel 3 on the tv was unwatchable due to some kind of interference. Other than that I would Definitley stay there again

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefan_S_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write a review for us - it is very much appreciated. Our housekeeping staff do a great job in providing clean and well presented units for our guests.
We look forward to having you stay again on your next visit to Tauranga.
Gladys & Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    48
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
41
38
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very clean, comfortable and well presented studio unit. Friendly helpful staff. Thank you I enjoyed my short stay just wish I had been staying longer. The motel is well situated and I will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for posting the review of our motel. We hope you had an enjoyable time with your family over xmas. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were only staying the one night,but I would have been happy to stay longer..very welcoming
Staff and surroundings. Very clean room,and stocked with the essentials. Maybe a label on the plunger coffee jar wouldn't go astray,it caught a guest out. Would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: The weather was extremely hot when we stayed there, so used ceiling fan during the night.Unfortunate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chookifluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our motel. We may have to look at getting some labels made for the plunger coffee grounds. We look forward to having you return and stay longer.

Gladys and Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hubby & I stayed at the Academy Motor Inn due to some of us "Aucklanders" joining our Head Office in a combined xmas function - and since Head Office is based in Tauranga/Mt Maunganui -the party was in Tauranga - so obviously we were going to stay over!! I am so pleased that we chose the Academy to stay at - not only did Gladys make it stress free making the reservations - 5 couples from Ak - a week before we needed the rooms for the Saturday night -AND it being the "silly season" - everything was sorted & I found her welcoming with her friendly demeanour. Arriving at the Motor Inn -we were very pleased with the room, the service - everything. The room was extremely clean & tidy- very comfortable - had everything we needed - EXCELLENT! So most definately recommend this motel to all - just wished we had ordered the breakfast - as the others said it was delicous..... Definately would stay again for sure!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pirateswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks so much for reviewing our motel. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself here in Tauranga and our motel. Everyone loves Kelvin's breakfasts. What an excuse to come back again. We look forward to your return visit and once again, many thanks.

Gladys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My family stayed here after Mum had a medical emergency and was taken off a cruise. The staff here bent over backwards to help. Nothing was too much for them to assist with - including taking calls from overseas relatives and assisting with transport around Tauranga.
Best nights sleep in a comfortable bed and lovely breakfasts.
Look no further…. this is the place to stay if you want a stress free and comfortable with people who are genuinely caring.
We just can't thank you enough!

Room Tip: Staff are happy to help you pick the perfect room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salpaloz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of our motel. We hope your mum had a comfortable trip home. It was a pleasure to help where we could and to make your family comfortable.
Gladys & Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. The room was excellent value for money and very close to the Tauranga cbd and access roads. Reception staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast (room service only) was reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter as they are further from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at our motel. It is lovely to know that guests appreciate what we have to offer for their comfort and convenience.
Gladys & Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I needed to be in Tauranga overnight for speaking engagement, and was provided a room at the Academy Motor Inn. The hosts were lovely and helpful, the room was very clean, which I appreciated and the room had every amenity I needed for my stay. The Wi-Fi access worked reliably, there was a hairdryer and good iron available for getting ready, and I was able to order breakfast, which was delivered to my room at the time I requested.

The only thing which I didn't particularly like was the mattress - it was a bit hard for me. The location is good - convenient to the Historic Village as well as the 16th Ave Theatre. The trade-off is that is was a bit noisy, as it is located at a very busy intersection.

Overall a very good stay and would recommend to others who find themselves in that part of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMyers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladco, Owner at Comfort Inn Academy, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our motel after your recent stay. We try to provide all the essentials for a comfortable stay. We are disappointed that the mattress was not to your satisfaction.
Gladys & Kelvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.8 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Academy

Property: Comfort Inn Academy
Address: 734 Cameron Road | (cnr Cameron Rd & 15th Ave), Tauranga 3112, New Zealand (Formerly Academy Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Academy 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing