We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel right on the bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Sebel Trinity was a real treat to stay in. The decor is very modern, and the facilities are very clean. The staff was always friendly. Our room overlooked the bay and the view was spectacular. The bathroom made the room even more impressive because it was luxurious and updated. The hotel had a restaurant that's worth checking out. The only frustration we had with the hotel was its small parking lot and the difficulty we had finding it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2009

My partner & I recently stayed at the sebel for one night, we live in Tauranga and although friends from out of town had warned me against it I thought id try it out for myself. Check in was easy the lady was lovely, very friendly & professional, check out was also easy and the man was also friendly & professional. I have however given a service rating of only two due to the way myself & my partner were treated by one of the night staff who was VERY rude!!!!! Never have I encounted such poor service in any situation, my partner & I are very polite people we do not make a fuss & the way this man treated us was terrible (we are in our 20's & I am assuming this is why he treated us the way he did) for this reason I will not recommend this hotel to any of my overseas visitors or business partners. I can not comment on the food as due to the horrible service received by said night staff I refused to give them my any more of my custom. The room itself was clean, yes it looked very clinical as did the whole hotel but very very clean, the bed was nice, the bathroom was spotless, however there was nowhere in the bathroom to hang your clothes or robes (robes supplied by hotel) so you just "put them on the floor"??? I must at this point mention that the whole bathroom is a wet area. The bathroom does have underfloor heating, a must when it is built over the water. The room itself has a heat pump, thank goodness it worked because they do not supply extra blankets in the room, I assume you could ask for one though. Noise was an major issue, we could hear the people in the next room having a shower.... also the doors slamming, the interior sound proofing is poor. The road noise is terrible while trying to enjoy the balcony but this is to be expected & that alone would not have put me off staying again. They also have very limited secure parking. All in all if you want a spotless place to rest your head on a quick stop over through Tauranga the Sebel may suit, if you want somewhere special to stay with great all round & most of all polite & FREINDLY service I would not recommend the Sebel. Go to the Devonport towers instead.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluffygoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

I have stayed at the Sebel in Tauranga on a number of occassions. it is a reliable Hotel, but rather pricey for the location and ambiance. We paid NZ$200 for a room with a balcony facing a cliff face - not the most scenic of views. They do have superb rooms facing out to Tauranga Harbour but these are expensive.

The hotel rooms themselves a spotlessly clean and tidy with good linen and comfortable beds. Each room has a flat screen TV and internet connection (although this is not complimentary and quite expensive). The showers are good. Because of the location, cellphone coverage can be patchy.

The ambiance of the hotel is fairly stark in the public areas away from the restaurant and bar. More decoration and paintings would really lift the hallways. They have large decks but these lack seating and seem to be a waste of space as a result.

The restaurant itself is good and better than most of the restaurants in the Strand, a short walk from the hotel. The outlook is superb. Again, the food is expensive and approaching overpriced. The staff are too relaxed and the service is slow.

The Sebel is one of those hotels that somehow leaves you feeling disappointed. It promises so much but somehow doesn't quite deliver. This is probably because of the cost of staying there. The staff are polite and efficient but never seem to go out of their way - the experience is perfunctory. The Sebel brand across Australasia is normally excellent. The Sebel in Noosa is a favourite of mine, but the Tauranga site really lacks ambiance & passionate staff.

Having said that, it is perfectly okay for a business stay but if you're seeking something special in this price range, you may look elsewhere. Tauranga is a very sleepy City - as such, you may even consider another destination. I'd go to Rotorua.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

The hotel itself is ok, maybe a bit clinical in its appearance but definitely one of the better hotels in the area. As mentioned in other postings the location is not great, but short of moving it to a more interesting town it is fine!

The check in staff are very polite and helpful, although they seem to struggle when there is more than one person. The restaurant staff are also very helpful but seem out of their depth, I am guessing they have a boss who is trying to give the restaurant a Michelin star feel, but has actually managed to achieve M Mouse instead. They should just relax a bit and I am sure the whole experience would be better. As for the food, it is quite good but the chef has got stuck in the 90's somewhere along the line, I didn't think you got 'free' soup starters any more served in a shot glass.

Overall not a bad hotel, the mistake we made was staying at the Westin in Auckland before this and subconsciously comparing everything else to it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jools10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Upgraded to a harbour view as soon as we saw the first room with a view over the carpark. Lovely room and the bathroom was very spacious. A bit disconcerting when we noticed a man camping out under the hotel but he disappeared the next morning. The restaurant was understandably busy at night as the food was very good. The location does let the hotel down a little with quite a walk into town. I would stay there again for a night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

great rooms and hotel but poor location. There is a new 4 lane bridge being built next to the hotel and the traffic is constant day and night. The sound proofing is excellent with the windows and doors closed but unpleasant with them open. Internet charges are very expensive $13.99 for 1 hr and $29.99 per day. Restaurant OK staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Carolyn&Lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Stayed a night in a Premium Water View room. Nice room with a shared balcony. This was a shock to our neighbours sitting on their balcony in their bathrobes! Hotel is first class. Located on the water next to industrial port facilities. A major eyesore. Area is apparently earmarked for a facelift which cannot come soon enough. Reception staff were very helpful in allowing us to reduce our planned stay from 3 days to 1. This was most appreciated. Room service was excellent. Basically a nice hotel in a very poor location. If you have no intention of going anywhere other than the hotel, the Sebel will not disappoint. We recommend Mount Maunganui.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Porkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#22 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
2.1 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Wharf Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Wharf Tauranga

Address: 51 Dive Crescent, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $134 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trinity Wharf Tauranga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat that reaches out to the ever-changing waters of the Tauranga Harbourand captures the very essence of New Zealand hospitality. This is a truly unique hotel located on and over the waters edge.Situated on the Pacific Coast Highway, in the sunny Bay of Plenty Region, Trinity Wharf Tauranga is surrounded by a diverse range of leisure and entertainment activities. It is essentially a gathering place - be it to 'gather yourself' or to gather with others. A place where you can be as active, or as restful as you like. Free wifi available throughout the hotel for in-house guests, and 176 on-site car parks. Accommodation: Architecturally designed across three central piers, Trinity Wharf Tauranga presents 123 well appointed guest rooms, of which 60 can accommodate twin share options for group travel or wedding guests. Two Bedroom and Three Bedroom Apartment options with fully equipped kitchen, laundry and spacious lounge/ dining areas make for an excellent family haven. Premium Water View Spa Guestrooms and the Trinity Wharf Suite provide spectacular harbour views, balconies on or over the water and offer luxurious spa baths - perfect for a special leisure escape. Events: Five versatile event venues provide excellent options for in-house residential conferences or special occasions. The Trinity Rooms (with capacity for up to 350 guests) have direct access to the hotel pontoon, enabling event guests to easily make their way to a boat transfer or an awaiting helicopter. For more intimate cocktail gatherings, product launches or corporate meetings, the Pool House Rooms (capacity for up to 80 guests) open on to the infinity edge pool and the refreshing harbour views beyond. An Exhibition Hall suitable for up to 28 trade display booths or themed gala dinners can seat up to 400 people theatre style. Lounge & Dining: Halo Lounge and Dining serves a fantastic array of breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and supper options, as well as a fine cup of espresso, cocktails and an excellent wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Wharf Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga Hotel Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing