We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel, staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Incredible hotel, staff and location”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were so impressed with this hotel having arrived wtihout a reservation after another property at Mt Maunganui messed up our booking, Ashleigh's assistance at the front desk soothed an otherwise stressful situation. Our room was over the water with a balcony, and it really was incredible - an idyllic spot, very well appointed hotel, and wonderful experience overall.

We used the pool which was heated a little so the temperature was perfect, and the buffet breakfast was amazing. This place really is excellent value for money. The only thing I think could be improved is the beds - we have an excellent bed at home so I have high standards, but I found the mattress too hard. The pillows and linen were lovely though.

Room Tip: Overwater balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldylocksNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you, we appreciate your feedback and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay recently. Sorry to hear you found the bed uncomfortable, we will look into this and what we might be able to do to rectify this. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    403
    170
    71
    42
See reviews for
161
560
30
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the Trinity Wharf Hotel whilst on a holiday of a lifetime to New Zealand for a Wedding - and all we can say is WOW.

We had apartment 10 and it was absolutely stunning, a three bedroom apartment with a wonderful balcony and a glass wall looking directly out onto the Bay of Plenty, quite literally breath taking.

All the hotel staff were lovely, from the receptionists , through housekeeping and waiting staff right up to the lovely owner and his wife. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

One last note - the breakfast is the best we have ever eaten in any hotel the world ever!!

Room Tip: Any room looking out onto the Bay is magnificent xxxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACYBABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
THANK YOU! Lovely to read your review, we appreciate your comments. Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The waterfront location provides great views of the harbor & is close enough to town to walk to local restaurants & bars.
Make sure you take a stroll down onto the pontoon at night.
The Sebel restaurants serves delicious food.

Room Tip: The water views at night are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeliproMtCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Wonderful comments thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Staff are good and friendly, swimming pool is tiny, location is not recognised on Sat Navigation units, so called free wifi is rubbish so you have to purchase wifi which is data limited which lasts for two Skype calls of 15 mins duration. Been in better motels for half the price

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank frae51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. Sorry to hear of your disappointment with the wifi, this was perhaps based on the previous 50mb free per day. We have free wifi with an unlimited data available for our guests now. We appreciate your comments, thank you again for sending this through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We paid the extra for a premium room. The room was huge, the bathroom was huge with a large spa bath, the deck was huge - although it was communal and shared with the other premium room. The view was awesome and we made the most of the fine weather and enjoyed the busy air traffic from our deck as well as the water activity. The hallways all looked the same and was a bit of a rabbit warren. The pool was lovely when the sun was shining, but wasn't very private. There was a jug in the room but no toaster. There were sachets of tea and coffe but NO hot chocolate - very disappointing as I don't drink tea or coffee. Free wifi was a bonus. Easy walk to town. Carpark was full Fri & Sat nights which was a pain. The bed was comfy, we loved the large room .We were in room 233 and we would stay again in that room - the best from what we could work out, but also the most expensive. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay, the Premium Water View spa guestrooms is the category you stayed in, which we have 14 of. We look forward to seeing you back again in the near future to enjoy this again. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
766 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here in March 2014. The rooms are okay and unless you pay for an upgrade you may have a view of the carpark. The beds are reasonably comfortable. And the hotel offers free Wi-Fi, which you get your log-in code through the TV. The staff are helpful although the check-in and check-out times seem to be far too long. The lounge area is quite nice for a drink. The breakfast is adequate. Pity they don't have more sports channels in the TV options.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Rooms are great and location is good , food has slipped I have been staying in the Sebel since it opened and this was my worst experience and it was the food that let the whole place down.No Gluten Free options mentioned in the menu.

Room Tip: Go out for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Perry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback, great to hear you have enjoyed many of your stays here except this one due to the food, I am sorry to hear about this experience. We will certainly look into your comments with our team. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#29 of 57 in Tauranga
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Wharf Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Wharf Tauranga

Property: Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Address: 51 Dive Crescent, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trinity Wharf Tauranga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat that reaches out to the ever-changing waters of the Tauranga Harbourand captures the very essence of New Zealand hospitality. This is a truly unique hotel located on and over the waters edge.Situated on the Pacific Coast Highway, in the sunny Bay of Plenty Region, Trinity Wharf Tauranga is surrounded by a diverse range of leisure and entertainment activities. It is essentially a gathering place - be it to 'gather yourself' or to gather with others. A place where you can be as active, or as restful as you like. Free wifi available throughout the hotel for in-house guests, and 176 on-site car parks. Accommodation: Architecturally designed across three central piers, Trinity Wharf Tauranga presents 123 well appointed guest rooms, of which 60 can accommodate twin share options for group travel or wedding guests. Two Bedroom and Three Bedroom Apartment options with fully equipped kitchen, laundry and spacious lounge/ dining areas make for an excellent family haven. Premium Water View Spa Guestrooms and the Trinity Wharf Suite provide spectacular harbour views, balconies on or over the water and offer luxurious spa baths - perfect for a special leisure escape. Events: Five versatile event venues provide excellent options for in-house residential conferences or special occasions. The Trinity Rooms (with capacity for up to 350 guests) have direct access to the hotel pontoon, enabling event guests to easily make their way to a boat transfer or an awaiting helicopter. For more intimate cocktail gatherings, product launches or corporate meetings, the Pool House Rooms (capacity for up to 80 guests) open on to the infinity edge pool and the refreshing harbour views beyond. An Exhibition Hall suitable for up to 28 trade display booths or themed gala dinners can seat up to 400 people theatre style. Lounge & Dining: Halo Lounge and Dining serves a fantastic array of breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and supper options, as well as a fine cup of espresso, cocktails and an excellent wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Wharf Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga Hotel Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing