We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Hamilton, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect”
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We booked two nights at the Trinity Wharf to celebrate a special occasion. The whole experience was a pleasure; the friendly, efficient front-of-house staff, the spacious, elegantly decorated room, wonderful harbour views, and a delicious meal at the hotel restaurant.

We had booked the Premier Harbour View room which totally lived up to the name. Waking up to the sunrise over the harbour was a delightful start to the day, which continued well with the delicious breakfast buffet that was included in our room price.

We would love to stay at the Trinity Wharf again; it was very reasonable priced for the excellent standard of accommodation and service we experienced.

  • Liked — Beautiful view
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldfishNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    400
    169
    71
    42
See reviews for
160
559
30
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Sebel at Tauranga for one night when we were touring the North Island a few months ago. We had booked boutique hotels all along the way and having not found a similar choice at Tauranga had opted for the Sebel. I was not expecting much but the hotel exceeded both our expectations. The view is not much to write about as it is near a flyover bridge on one side. However, the check-in desk was very efficient on arrival and the room allocated was clean, comfortable, modern and spacious. The bathroom was particularly good with and an excellent shower. We had not booked at the restaurant and it was busy when we went down there. However, the staff were very courteous and while we had a drink at the rather nice bar, a table was made ready. The food at the restaurant was very good. In the morning, we didn't have time to have breakfast there as we departed early. The rate for the hotel was very reasonable compared to other establishments and what makes this place is the young and friendly staff and the general relaxed ambience. If I was to choose a hotel again at Tauranga it would be this one. What they could improve is their website. It does not do the hotel any justice.

  • Liked — General ambience and staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing particular apart from the hotel website which should be improved.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobella_D_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Stayed in this hotel over the weekend, only for one night. The room was very modern and well decorated. The bathroom was huge and underfloor heating was a plus! We asked for a harbour view room, and weren't too disappointed - we did look back towards the hotel restaurant rather than straight out, but knew this wasn't the premier-view room when we booked.

The hotel is ideally located over the water although as previously mentioned, you are right next to the harbour bridge. We didn't have the balcony doors open because of the rain, but imagine the noise could be disruptive in good weather. It's a bit of a walk into town, but well worth it for the cafes and bars in the area, and parking wasn't too much of a problem this time of year.

We had lunch at the hotel, and breakfast the following morning. The food was good - lunch was reasonably priced and good quality, the breakfast buffet had a decent choice although the hot selection was a little cold. Staff were attentive, and very helpful. Would stay here again on a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Low Head, Tasmania, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

My husband & I stayed for 5 nights & has a wonderful time. I booked on line so I wasn't sure what we would find when we arrived but we were very impressed. The hotel decor is just lovely & the rooms are very comfortable with bathrooms just gorgeous. We had great service when dining in house & were invited to drinks & canapes on Friday night which is a regular occurence for the business community, which we thought was really great. We were both really disappointed when it was time to leave. I would recomend this hotel to everyone. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We stayed at the Sebel Trinity both on our wedding night and the night after. The hotel is lovely and new and the room we had was gorgeous. Ok, it was relatively expensive at $250 a night, but we for a special occasion, well worth it. We didn't eat at the hotel, but thought for the price, breakfast should have been included.

Our room was number 107 and it is a perfect location right on the waterfront. In the morning, the sun rises over the sea and comes into the main bedroom. The bathroom is stunning - has a massive spa bath and a lovely huge shower. We also had a balcony and didn't think the noise from the motorway was too bad either.

Agreed, parking is a bit of a problem especially when there is a function on. After paying all this money for the best room in the property, we had to park all the way down the road! And on the second night we stayed there, we were evacuated for a fire alarm at 11pm!. There was a wedding on and the bands' smoke machine got too close to the fire sensors!

We have family in the area, so wouldn't stay again for that reason, but definately worth a look if you are visiting the Tauranga area.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — Not enough parking
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazza_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

My wife and I spent one night here and my wife has stayed here before. This is a new, smart, pleasant hotel. Clean and quiet. Reasonably well appointed with lovely views from our Harbour View Room. Excellent and efficient reception. However, reception had no record of our breakfast package. This was booked online and apparently 'central reservations' information could not be accessed to confirm. We had to produce a copy of our booking and they were more than happy to accept this. The big advantage of this hotel is the lovely restaurant over the water. We enjoyed a well presented breakfast but have not as yet tried an evening meal. Overall an excellent stay and very convenient to Tauranga shops. You would need a car to reach Mt Maunganui unless you caught the ferry. Didn't try out all the facilities but the pool looked nice. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Liked — Location and restaurant. Standard of room.
  • Disliked — Poor communication between reception and 'central reservations'
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsammomaBody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We booked to stay over the Christmas/New Year period. It was a tad expensive but we felt like treating ourselves.

On arrival we were told to park in the outside carpark. There were only 1 or 2 secure spaces in the underground carpark, but an owner of a tenanted apartment had a hissy fit when we tried to park in the secure underground carpark. Not a good start. Parking is a problem, they simply do not have enough.

We paid extra for a Premier water-view room. Unfortunately there was a large expanse of roof in front of us so we felt like our view was partially obstrucked. Spoke to reception and they did not offer any alternative.

The hotel is VERY close to the harbour bridge so you will hear lots of traffic noise if you open the doors onto the balcony. Understandably this point is not advertsed on their website.

The room was HUGE and the bathroom facilities were excellent and clean. Doors do bang shut loudly as people enter and leave their rooms. This WILL wake you during the night as will people talking as they walk along the corridors.

At the restaurant/coffee shop the menu was a bit over the top. Not a lot of nice normal food to be had. Nothing really appealed to either of us or the kids. But there is an excellent fish & chip shop just along the road.

It was OK I guess. I was expecting something better to be honest. We've stayed in better Sebels in Australia. It was a bit over-priced. I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Liked — Huge Room
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mmbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Wharf Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Wharf Tauranga

Property: Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Address: 51 Dive Crescent, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trinity Wharf Tauranga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat that reaches out to the ever-changing waters of the Tauranga Harbourand captures the very essence of New Zealand hospitality. This is a truly unique hotel located on and over the waters edge.Situated on the Pacific Coast Highway, in the sunny Bay of Plenty Region, Trinity Wharf Tauranga is surrounded by a diverse range of leisure and entertainment activities. It is essentially a gathering place - be it to 'gather yourself' or to gather with others. A place where you can be as active, or as restful as you like. Free wifi available throughout the hotel for in-house guests, and 176 on-site car parks. Accommodation: Architecturally designed across three central piers, Trinity Wharf Tauranga presents 123 well appointed guest rooms, of which 60 can accommodate twin share options for group travel or wedding guests. Two Bedroom and Three Bedroom Apartment options with fully equipped kitchen, laundry and spacious lounge/ dining areas make for an excellent family haven. Premium Water View Spa Guestrooms and the Trinity Wharf Suite provide spectacular harbour views, balconies on or over the water and offer luxurious spa baths - perfect for a special leisure escape. Events: Five versatile event venues provide excellent options for in-house residential conferences or special occasions. The Trinity Rooms (with capacity for up to 350 guests) have direct access to the hotel pontoon, enabling event guests to easily make their way to a boat transfer or an awaiting helicopter. For more intimate cocktail gatherings, product launches or corporate meetings, the Pool House Rooms (capacity for up to 80 guests) open on to the infinity edge pool and the refreshing harbour views beyond. An Exhibition Hall suitable for up to 28 trade display booths or themed gala dinners can seat up to 400 people theatre style. Lounge & Dining: Halo Lounge and Dining serves a fantastic array of breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and supper options, as well as a fine cup of espresso, cocktails and an excellent wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Wharf Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga Hotel Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing