We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“restful water view stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“restful water view stay”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for a much needed break from hectic work schedules. Our room looked out on the harbour with the water so close you could lean over from the balcony and nearly touch it. This made the stay really special as did the sophisticated bar and restaurant areas. Our room was nice, nothing too posh but a very nice bathroom.
We had a king sized room next to the pool area which we liked a lot.
A big advantage of this hotel is that you can walk into town and after a meal saunter back. We really enjoyed our stay and recommend it highly.
It is expensive compared to other Tauranga accommodation but well above the rest of the places and worth it.

Room Tip: Get a water view room and go for a king sized one. Rooms opening on to pool may not suit everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, its great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We appreciate hearing from you and do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    394
    164
    68
    42
See reviews for
157
550
28
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The lobby decor is very pleasing but I found some of the staff at reception not always tip top when it came to customer service. That was quite variable, as some answered queries helpfully while some others seemed disinterested. The corridor leading to our harbour view room had a strong odour so the door at the end was left open a lot. To be fair by our second night this seemed to have disappeared. The rooms were nicely decorated and the bathroom was excellent. The bed was firm and room itself spotlessly clean. I did however find the wifi annoying as it was difficult to maintain a connection in the room even though I paid for a package rather than rely on the free wifi.

The food in the restaurant was very good. We stayed there for a conference and I pleasantly surprised by the quality and service particularly for such a large number.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelynrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for sending in your review, great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear the service was very mixed from reception, we will certainly look into this to be more consistant to improve our guest relations. Many thanks again, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights for a conference and found the venue to be good. It's not far to walk into town and the staff were friendly and efficient. The views from the restaurant were excellent. The room was of a good size as was the bathroom with a good large shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Many thanks for sending in your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Due to bad snow conditions at Mt Ruapehu, we requested to reschedule and bring forward the date of our booking. The receptionist was very helpful organising this. When we arrived, the receptionist was very friendly and advised us that we had been upgraded to a balcony room. Our pleasure was tempered when we realised that the balcony overlooked the carpark & not the water. We ended up requesting (& paying an extra $40 per night) an upgrade to a room that did!

The room was well appointed & had a fabulous view over the harbour. The bed & pillows were of a good quality and comfortable. The bathroom was large with a bath (which we didn't get around to using) but was surprisingly short on some of the basics (eg no shower cap & a sewing kit would have been nice). There was also a sliding opague glass door into the bathroom which didn't cut out much of the noise. They also charged extra for the filter coffee in the room, which seemed a bit mean for a hotel at this price.

The lobby area looked out over the infinity edge pool to the harbour and was lovely.

We did a few drives around the harbour and there seemed to be heaps of other hotels with great views, so I'd investigate the other options really well before paying for the Trinity. I definitely wouldn't bother staying there if you can't afford a room overlooking the water/harbour.

Room Tip: If you can't afford a room looking over the water, go for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie-holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the service helpful and welcoming. Sorry to hear you were a little disappointed in your initial upgrade, we do have several room categories to upgrade to and priced accordingly to give our guests better variety to suit their individual needs. We do appreciate the time you have taken to send in this feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Initial impressions were good,nice foyer with helpful pleasant front desk service.lovely room with a balcony and water views,good bathroom with nice shower accessories,only one towel each though so if you use them at night theres no dry ones for morning,rather short sighted.4tiny milks which werent enough,otherwise a well stocked bar.went to breakfast at about 7.30,greeted well by pleasant staff,we requested fried eggs as they werent in the buffet,we were told theyd be brought over and to go sit down,20 minutes later ,after we had finished eating,we were presented with the eggs,our plates were clearly done but nothing was said.we left them and went to pay,mentioning when asked if everything was ok,that in future the eggs might arrive sooner,the gent was dumbfounded and said they were put on as soon as asked for....it doesnt take 20 minutes to fry an egg.the two breakfasts came to $70, no reduction ,when you pay that kind of money you should get good service,we feel we did not,we would not dine here again.it is attention to detail and pleasant attitude that gets return business.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony and they will oblige where possible,skip dining and take your money into town,the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, I am sorry to hear of your experience in Halo. We will certainly look into this further so that we can avoid this happening in future. Thank you again for your feedback, we do appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro-Manila
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I think my overall experience is that service is good in New Zealand, and it bodes as well for this place. The restaurant served good contemporary international cuisine. Breakfast buffet had a good choice but not over the top. Fish was for dinner, and it was an excellent meal with proper service. The hotel has a view of a river. Rivers are great views in New Zealand where everything seems so clear, crisp and clean. The room was spotless, basic but very adequate for a business traveller. Touches of luxury was welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elfilibusterismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you are able to visit New Zealand again and see us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed two nights after having a small foot operation and the staff were extremely helpful checking to make sure I was Ok, making me cups of tea and providing fresh water plus delivering my meals right to the bed. The room was spacious with good amenities and a lovely view of the water. Plus Free wifi was an extra bonus.
Thankyou to the staff who went over and beyond their call of duty to help make my stay enjoable and I would definitly recommend to anyone needing accomodation in Tauranga.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much! We really appreciate knowing you enjoyed your stay and do wish you all the very best for your recovery. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
299 reviews
2.1 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
122 reviews
2.5 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Wharf Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Wharf Tauranga

Property: Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Address: 51 Dive Crescent, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trinity Wharf Tauranga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat that reaches out to the ever-changing waters of the Tauranga Harbourand captures the very essence of New Zealand hospitality. This is a truly unique hotel located on and over the waters edge.Situated on the Pacific Coast Highway, in the sunny Bay of Plenty Region, Trinity Wharf Tauranga is surrounded by a diverse range of leisure and entertainment activities. It is essentially a gathering place - be it to 'gather yourself' or to gather with others. A place where you can be as active, or as restful as you like. Free wifi available throughout the hotel for in-house guests, and 176 on-site car parks. Accommodation: Architecturally designed across three central piers, Trinity Wharf Tauranga presents 123 well appointed guest rooms, of which 60 can accommodate twin share options for group travel or wedding guests. Two Bedroom and Three Bedroom Apartment options with fully equipped kitchen, laundry and spacious lounge/ dining areas make for an excellent family haven. Premium Water View Spa Guestrooms and the Trinity Wharf Suite provide spectacular harbour views, balconies on or over the water and offer luxurious spa baths - perfect for a special leisure escape. Events: Five versatile event venues provide excellent options for in-house residential conferences or special occasions. The Trinity Rooms (with capacity for up to 350 guests) have direct access to the hotel pontoon, enabling event guests to easily make their way to a boat transfer or an awaiting helicopter. For more intimate cocktail gatherings, product launches or corporate meetings, the Pool House Rooms (capacity for up to 80 guests) open on to the infinity edge pool and the refreshing harbour views beyond. An Exhibition Hall suitable for up to 28 trade display booths or themed gala dinners can seat up to 400 people theatre style. Lounge & Dining: Halo Lounge and Dining serves a fantastic array of breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and supper options, as well as a fine cup of espresso, cocktails and an excellent wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Wharf Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga Hotel Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing