We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in Tauranga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel in Tauranga”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We managed to score a Grab One deal at the fabulous Trinity Wharf hotel, and we weren't disappointed. From the bottle of wine & chese board on arrival, to the well appointed room, to the excellent restaurant & lounge area, we were very impressed.

Staff are extremely friendly & helpful, & the hotel is perfectly situated if you want to be in central Tauranga.

Room Tip: They're all great, but it's worth spending a bit extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for staying and sending in this review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Grabone experience! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    400
    169
    71
    42
See reviews for
160
559
30
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A great experience from booking til leaving. Staff friendly and helpful, and booking process really positive. Wonderful location right on the harbour in Tauranga. Would like to try another meal he. We had high tea for a party of 14 and food and service was great. No rush for us to leave...would love to try another meal or a stay..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We do love our High Teas and are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed yours! Thank you for taking the time to send in your review, we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My daughter and I spent a night here last week. Lovely large rooms, and very modern. Bathroom was great, even had heated floor. With both shower and bath tub. Very quiet and great block out curtains. Pity we weren't in a room with a view over the water. But you can sit in lounge area or restaurant and overlook water. Very nice staff on reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here 3 times. Great position on the water and stunning views if you have a water view room. The most efficient and rapid check in we have experienced in NZ. Restaurant is average (get an Auckland consultant in guys) but good natured low key NZ service. One thing we really appreciated was free wifi. This is unusual in NZ and Australia and is worth commenting on.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank allblacks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Great to hear you continue to enjoy our hotel and services. Thank you for your feedback on our restaurant, we do appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury. W. Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent two nights on business. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre, but it's worth it for the situation. I had a room right on the water and waking up to the sunrise was immense. Hotel food was good, if not amazing and breakfast pretty satisfactory. Was slightly annoyed by having to buy a adaptor for my UK plug when other NZ hotels had lent them free of charge, but very little else to complain about.
To get the best you would need a room on the water and breakfast as the sun is rising. Not sure of value as I wasn't paying !
Was woken once by a train, but overall this was a fairly peaceful setting.

Room Tip: On the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickDud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Your feedback is much appreciated and we do hope to see you back soon, many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I did not enjoy my stay here. The room was very noisy and the food was terrible. Sadly the worst part was the indifference of the staff.

On my first night at 1am in the morning staff started moving furniture or something like this in the rooms next door to me. They were banging it into a store room near the elevators and unfortunately the wall of this store room was the wall the head of my bed was against. I dont know what was in the store room but it seemed nothing was placed, it sounded like everything was thrown. The sound died down and then around 1.30am it started up again. I ended getting up and asking the young man and woman staff members who were in the store room to keep the noise down and they said they had finished in there.

The next night it happened again even though I had asked the front counter to stop people banging the door and making noise. Very disappointing and very poor service.

I was at this hotel for a conference and the food was just terrible. I admit being vegetarian can be a problem, but still I expected much better than what I got. On my first night at the special meal, the only vegetable selection consisted of 3 lumps of melted cheese, a mousse with a smoked fishy (yes fish!) taste and vegetables. The total vegetables on the plate were 1 baby carrot cut in two, 2 small green beans and half a baby beetroot cut in two. This was a $30+ meal and the total ingredients were less than most appetisers. Later at the bar I bought 4 drinks - 2 standard sized baileys, 1 single of whiskey and a L&P for myself. These 4 drinks cost $36!!!!

The next night at the conference dinner was a buffet, served by staff. I joined the queue after 2/3rds had been served. On my plate they put two bits of cauliflower and two small potatoes. Then there was the meat selections. I asked the server could I have more vegetables as I was vegetarian and she had carrots and alike in a container. She put two more small potatoes on my plate. I asked for some of the carrot and was told there are others to be served too and I should wait until everyone was served before asking for more. I then grabbed two bread rolls to fill my plate and was told that it was supposed to be one roll per person (see pic of my expensive conference meal)

The other thing i didnt understand was that the wine on the table was free, but if I wanted a non-alcoholic drink so I had to pay $4 for a small glass. You had to pay cash too. I actually popped out and got a 1.25 litre bottle of coke which did not go down well. For my $2.80 bottle of coke I filled their glass 10.5 times, saving myself around $40. I accept the conference organiser should have made allowance for teetotallers, but the drinks were prohibitively expensive. Having paid around $60 for the dinner I think they could offer better value soft drinks.

The staff also lacked local knowledge. I asked at the counter if there was a dairy nearby that I could buy some fruit at and was told no. Yet just 800m down the road is a major produce market, where i bought my coke as well. For dessert, it was brought to the table. You could not choose from the two selections they simply put one in front of you. At our table some people swapped, but even then not everyone got a dessert as they apparently ran out.

Overall a very disappointing experience and I would certainly not recommend this as a conference venue to any organisation. I would certainly not attend another event being held here.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms near the elevators or conference rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I do appreciate the time you have taken to send in your review and I am really sorry to hear of your disappointment in your stay. I would like to talk to you regarding this if you have some time. Please do contact me on rose.gilmore@trinitywharf.co.nz, I look forward to hearing from you to discuss your comments further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Fantastic views and great room. The layout of the room could have been better. Best view was standing in front of tv! view from couch was simply other rooms. Fire doors banging in hallway meant sleep was almost impossible. The conference room and corridors were freezing cold. Service was great and food was good too. However the noise of fire doors constantly banging would stop me ever staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerylC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and food but very sorry that you did not sleep well. We recognise how important this is to our guests and are currently looking at some options to improve the acoustics in the corridors. Thanks again for the feedback and please do contact me on rose.gilmore@trinitywharf.co.nz if we can be of any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Wharf Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Wharf Tauranga

Property: Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Address: 51 Dive Crescent, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trinity Wharf Tauranga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat that reaches out to the ever-changing waters of the Tauranga Harbourand captures the very essence of New Zealand hospitality. This is a truly unique hotel located on and over the waters edge.Situated on the Pacific Coast Highway, in the sunny Bay of Plenty Region, Trinity Wharf Tauranga is surrounded by a diverse range of leisure and entertainment activities. It is essentially a gathering place - be it to 'gather yourself' or to gather with others. A place where you can be as active, or as restful as you like. Free wifi available throughout the hotel for in-house guests, and 176 on-site car parks. Accommodation: Architecturally designed across three central piers, Trinity Wharf Tauranga presents 123 well appointed guest rooms, of which 60 can accommodate twin share options for group travel or wedding guests. Two Bedroom and Three Bedroom Apartment options with fully equipped kitchen, laundry and spacious lounge/ dining areas make for an excellent family haven. Premium Water View Spa Guestrooms and the Trinity Wharf Suite provide spectacular harbour views, balconies on or over the water and offer luxurious spa baths - perfect for a special leisure escape. Events: Five versatile event venues provide excellent options for in-house residential conferences or special occasions. The Trinity Rooms (with capacity for up to 350 guests) have direct access to the hotel pontoon, enabling event guests to easily make their way to a boat transfer or an awaiting helicopter. For more intimate cocktail gatherings, product launches or corporate meetings, the Pool House Rooms (capacity for up to 80 guests) open on to the infinity edge pool and the refreshing harbour views beyond. An Exhibition Hall suitable for up to 28 trade display booths or themed gala dinners can seat up to 400 people theatre style. Lounge & Dining: Halo Lounge and Dining serves a fantastic array of breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and supper options, as well as a fine cup of espresso, cocktails and an excellent wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trinity Wharf Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga Hotel Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing