We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room but too noisy to sleep and very cold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Fantastic views and great room. The layout of the room could have been better. Best view was standing in front of tv! view from couch was simply other rooms. Fire doors banging in hallway meant sleep was almost impossible. The conference room and corridors were freezing cold. Service was great and food was good too. However the noise of fire doors constantly banging would stop me ever staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerylC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and food but very sorry that you did not sleep well. We recognise how important this is to our guests and are currently looking at some options to improve the acoustics in the corridors. Thanks again for the feedback and please do contact me on rose.gilmore@trinitywharf.co.nz if we can be of any further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

More of a family place. Pictures on website do not match reality. Located just off freeway. Poorly located. Very noisy. Had to walk five minutes from reception to room through plenty of doors. With bags after a long drive it's not a pleasant experience. Breakfast was enjoyable good options and a good view. Expect a nice long walk to restaurants/shops. 10-15min. Rooms kind of cold and hostile not very welcoming. Probably would not stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dale I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi, I am sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your stay and you had some difficulities during your time here. I would love to talk to you further on your comments if you have some time, please do contact me: rose.gilmore@trinitywharf.co.nz.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Possibly the best Sunday brunch going and marvellous estuary views out inside the harbour entrance with good privacy but the staff appear to operate on their own timetable, with the exception of the receptionists and the front office manager/purser. Sort it out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norheim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Have stayed here on a few occasions now when they were the Sebel Trinity and have enjoyed it each time. Very comfortable and modern accommodation. Staff have been very welcoming. The rooms are modern and spacious with quality furnishings. You have to stay in one of the over water wharf suites. Floor to ceiling windows are great to look out over the ocean. Worth paying the bit extra for an extra spacious room and the view.
The buffet breakfast is also of a high quality and very tasty. Next time you want to stay in Tauranga, look them up

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the wharf suite-fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay! We do hope to welcome you back soon and that you continue to enjoy the facilities and services we have to offer. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Every time we stay at Trinity wharf formerly known as the Sebal we genuinely love being there.
The staff are fantastic.The rooms are wonderfull.Big and comefortable. The bathroom is big with a huge tub and shower The food is a pleasure to eat.Stay in one of the overwater Suites on a stormy night and enjoy the view which is a totally unobstructed view of the harbour.
The only negative is a lack of charactor.Its not a chain hotel and that shows.But unlike other stand alone hotels it hasn't developed a personality YET. I was reluctant to add this because I'd hate others not to enjoy being there.

Room Tip: If you get a chance stay in one of the overwater suites.-the view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay… and every stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. If you have a moment and are able to, Id like to talk to you further on your feedback, please email me: rose.gilmore@trinitywharf.co.nz so I can make contact with you. Again, many thanks for the wonderful comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was nice to stay in a hotel where the rooms were not the standard bathroom on left or right as you walk in. However the big glass sliding door into the bathroom from the bedroom meant from the bedroom you could make people out in the bathroom.

We find the staff very helpful, efficient and friendly.

Rooms were nice and clean with plenty of room in them (nice a bed side light for once that is actually bright enough to read by!).

Nice walking distance to Tauranga shops.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Hi, great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay! We appreciate you have taken the time to send in your review and we do hope to see you again soon. Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely hotel. Staff were helpful.
Our room was really nice and comfy, plenty of space and a super big bathroom. Sliding door opened onto the pool and the view looked over to the main highway bridge in the distance.
Had a nice evening meal in the restaurant but must say the service was slow between courses! Our sever was very friendly but had a few tables to attend to and all seemed to get the courses at the same time....was this a ploy by the chef??!!
Free Wi-Fi up to 25 MB is available but this hotel needs to consider international travellers who need more than that,,,,and not have to pay additional costs for more access. Perhaps this is an NZ problem with the Internet Providers having the "power" at this time to charge what they want.
I would go back and stay for longer.

Room Tip: Ask for one that opens out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy61268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Hi, wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay recently and particularly on the service received from our staff. Thank you for sending in your review, your comments provided will assist us to offer even better services to all our guests. We do look forward to welcoming you back and hope you can stay longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
2.1 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Wharf Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Wharf Tauranga

Address: 51 Dive Crescent, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#7 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $135 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trinity Wharf Tauranga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat that reaches out to the ever-changing waters of the Tauranga Harbourand captures the very essence of New Zealand hospitality. This is a truly unique hotel located on and over the waters edge.Situated on the Pacific Coast Highway, in the sunny Bay of Plenty Region, Trinity Wharf Tauranga is surrounded by a diverse range of leisure and entertainment activities. It is essentially a gathering place - be it to 'gather yourself' or to gather with others. A place where you can be as active, or as restful as you like. Free wifi available throughout the hotel for in-house guests, and 176 on-site car parks. Accommodation: Architecturally designed across three central piers, Trinity Wharf Tauranga presents 123 well appointed guest rooms, of which 60 can accommodate twin share options for group travel or wedding guests. Two Bedroom and Three Bedroom Apartment options with fully equipped kitchen, laundry and spacious lounge/ dining areas make for an excellent family haven. Premium Water View Spa Guestrooms and the Trinity Wharf Suite provide spectacular harbour views, balconies on or over the water and offer luxurious spa baths - perfect for a special leisure escape. Events: Five versatile event venues provide excellent options for in-house residential conferences or special occasions. The Trinity Rooms (with capacity for up to 350 guests) have direct access to the hotel pontoon, enabling event guests to easily make their way to a boat transfer or an awaiting helicopter. For more intimate cocktail gatherings, product launches or corporate meetings, the Pool House Rooms (capacity for up to 80 guests) open on to the infinity edge pool and the refreshing harbour views beyond. An Exhibition Hall suitable for up to 28 trade display booths or themed gala dinners can seat up to 400 people theatre style. Lounge & Dining: Halo Lounge and Dining serves a fantastic array of breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and supper options, as well as a fine cup of espresso, cocktails and an excellent wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Wharf Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga Hotel Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing