We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Tauranga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Tauranga”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We only stayed one night but would have stayed longer if we had the time.
Very attractive, modern lobby with comfortable chairs in the bar area overlooking the harbour.
Check-in was quick and friendly. We asked for an upgrade and got an harbour view room. Actually it was a peek a boo view of the bridge and a little view of the water.
The bedroom was large and well appointed with a huge modern bathroom with all the amenities.
We didn't eat in the hotel but walked about 10 minutes into the town centre. We were going to eat at the fish and chip restaurant which had been recommended but we got there at 7.25 and it had the last serving at 7PM.
The only negative was that I paid for the wi-fi (only $10 for 125 MB) but when I signed in later it did not recognize my e-mail address and EOL the internet supplier's support desk closed at 6.30PM and so I wasn't able to access the internet again. Not a fault of the hotel's but rather annoying.
All in all, a good hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room facing the harbour or city and not the bridge. Rooms facing the road m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rascaloidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose_G421, Manager at Trinity Wharf Tauranga, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us!
I was sorry to hear that you experienced a problem with our internet supplier, we will certainly follow that up with them on your behalf.
Many Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    400
    169
    71
    42
See reviews for
160
559
30
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed 1 night as part of a conference. Very nice rooms and good location, right on the water. Agree with previous comment about noise and shower noise from adjoining room. This is a large hotel so getting to your room with lots of luggage can be a challenge as many fire doors to go through. Good bathroom amenities in room. Reception a bit understaffed with only 1 person on during peak check out times. There were a lot of frustrated people. Breakfast room service took an hour to deliver.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, go for a room facing the water. Rooms at the back just face the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel and facilities, best bathrooms of a hotel room I've been to in NZ. terrible soundproofing thou, could hear everything outside my door and was woken early by the shower in room next door.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great position,bored ill trained staff who were totally unhelpful."computer says no attitude"
The worst aspect was the bar and dining facilities were closed for a private function.We still paid $278 for our room but had no access to the other facilities.
Lots of road noise from the bridge.
Thin small towels like a country motel.
I am very concerned this is what we present to tourists .
Attitude starts at the top and it is obvious the owners do not care about service.
I would not stay again.
you can find better,

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was a better experience than I expected. The hotel was clean and efficient and the staff were extremely friendly and keen to help at every turn. It's in a beautiful but slightly odd location but if you have a car that is no problem.

Room Tip: Get a room looking out to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you get a really good discount under 100 per night this is a great place to stay.. easy walk to restaurants and bars downtown Tauranga and the waterfront. The room we had was large but no views of the water--i guess those cost more. There's a fair bit of road noise from the bridge when you sit by the pool. It's a great location to relax but the pool catches the breeze so it can be chilly even with the sun shining. Service in the restaurant just to get a coffee was really slack the day we stopped. So great location but struggling to rise up to its potential.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocBrown55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nice views, and conveniently close to town and therefore restaurants, cafes and bars. The rooms are clean... if a little noisy with the trucks going over the bridge at night.
Our main disappointment was the hard as rocks bed! Would have been far more comfortable sleeping on the floor I think. If you have a bad back - steer clear. Also if you are a little shy with your bathroom rituals, be sure to check your don't get the rooms with the cloudy glass doors - let's just say that they don't leave much to the imagination.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Wharf Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Wharf Tauranga

Property: Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Address: 51 Dive Crescent, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trinity Wharf Tauranga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat that reaches out to the ever-changing waters of the Tauranga Harbourand captures the very essence of New Zealand hospitality. This is a truly unique hotel located on and over the waters edge.Situated on the Pacific Coast Highway, in the sunny Bay of Plenty Region, Trinity Wharf Tauranga is surrounded by a diverse range of leisure and entertainment activities. It is essentially a gathering place - be it to 'gather yourself' or to gather with others. A place where you can be as active, or as restful as you like. Free wifi available throughout the hotel for in-house guests, and 176 on-site car parks. Accommodation: Architecturally designed across three central piers, Trinity Wharf Tauranga presents 123 well appointed guest rooms, of which 60 can accommodate twin share options for group travel or wedding guests. Two Bedroom and Three Bedroom Apartment options with fully equipped kitchen, laundry and spacious lounge/ dining areas make for an excellent family haven. Premium Water View Spa Guestrooms and the Trinity Wharf Suite provide spectacular harbour views, balconies on or over the water and offer luxurious spa baths - perfect for a special leisure escape. Events: Five versatile event venues provide excellent options for in-house residential conferences or special occasions. The Trinity Rooms (with capacity for up to 350 guests) have direct access to the hotel pontoon, enabling event guests to easily make their way to a boat transfer or an awaiting helicopter. For more intimate cocktail gatherings, product launches or corporate meetings, the Pool House Rooms (capacity for up to 80 guests) open on to the infinity edge pool and the refreshing harbour views beyond. An Exhibition Hall suitable for up to 28 trade display booths or themed gala dinners can seat up to 400 people theatre style. Lounge & Dining: Halo Lounge and Dining serves a fantastic array of breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and supper options, as well as a fine cup of espresso, cocktails and an excellent wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Wharf Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga Hotel Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing