We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,262)
Filter reviews
1,262 results
Traveler rating
475
460
196
81
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
460
196
81
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaloinfinity poolwater viewbuffet breakfastroom serviceunderfloor heatingharbour viewlovely hotelspa roomlovely viewlovely rooman easy walkwould stay againone night staybars and restaurantsmt maunganuiclose to town
Filter
Updating list...
1,227 - 1,232 of 1,262 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2008

My wife and I spent one night here and my wife has stayed here before. This is a new, smart, pleasant hotel. Clean and quiet. Reasonably well appointed with lovely views from our Harbour View Room. Excellent and efficient reception. However, reception had no record of our breakfast package. This was booked online and apparently 'central reservations' information could not be accessed to confirm. We had to produce a copy of our booking and they were more than happy to accept this. The big advantage of this hotel is the lovely restaurant over the water. We enjoyed a well presented breakfast but have not as yet tried an evening meal. Overall an excellent stay and very convenient to Tauranga shops. You would need a car to reach Mt Maunganui unless you caught the ferry. Didn't try out all the facilities but the pool looked nice. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We booked to stay over the Christmas/New Year period. It was a tad expensive but we felt like treating ourselves.

On arrival we were told to park in the outside carpark. There were only 1 or 2 secure spaces in the underground carpark, but an owner of a tenanted apartment had a hissy fit when we tried to park in the secure underground carpark. Not a good start. Parking is a problem, they simply do not have enough.

We paid extra for a Premier water-view room. Unfortunately there was a large expanse of roof in front of us so we felt like our view was partially obstrucked. Spoke to reception and they did not offer any alternative.

The hotel is VERY close to the harbour bridge so you will hear lots of traffic noise if you open the doors onto the balcony. Understandably this point is not advertsed on their website.

The room was HUGE and the bathroom facilities were excellent and clean. Doors do bang shut loudly as people enter and leave their rooms. This WILL wake you during the night as will people talking as they walk along the corridors.

At the restaurant/coffee shop the menu was a bit over the top. Not a lot of nice normal food to be had. Nothing really appealed to either of us or the kids. But there is an excellent fish & chip shop just along the road.

It was OK I guess. I was expecting something better to be honest. We've stayed in better Sebels in Australia. It was a bit over-priced. I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mmbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed over new year a party of 4 in 2 harbour view rooms.

Price through the hotel was good value but beware harbour views are not all the same you should check the hotel layout at checking. Some rooms for example look directly onto the pool.

Staff we very helpful and the location is great for views but a 10 to 15 minute walk to the town centre.

Rooms are large and bathrooms enormous. Very comfortable and a great flat screen TV.

The resteraunt has great views and dining over the water. Staff were fantastic but the food was very poor then night we dinned. So much so that we did not bother with breakfast in the hotel. We were told they were down a chef. Bar Service was also slow but there seemed to be plently of staff.

There is a nice little pool with an horizon edge over the harbour but no loungers.

Overall the hotel was a good option for Tauranga and I would recommend
it for a 4 star experience 5 if they fix the dinning.

My real dislike was that room doors slam when closing and you can hear
them open and close when in your room.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sydneyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed at the Sebel Trinity Wharf in Tauranga, New Zealand at the end of December, 2007. I was skeptical booking the hotel because the photos looked good on the website, but, as we all know, that's not always a good indication of what you'll find when you arrive. However, we were very pleased to find that it was exactly as represented - in particular, the cleanliness of the premises. The hotel was fairly new (it opened in 2006), so the linens were fresh and crisp, the curtains pure white, and the room furniture was modern. The best feature was the bathroom, which had a curved glass enclosed shower, a separate tub and most importantly, a heated tile floor. This is always such a treat! Finally, the price was excellent when considered in terms of U.S. dollars. For those seeking a view, however, the hotel is adjacent to a bridge and boat harbor, so it is not as pictureque as hotels in nearby Mt. Maunganui.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hermes048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Stayed in the hotel - Wow what a let down - we paid $184 for a Harbour View room for 2 adults and 1 child. This was the only room that took an extra bed. Very over-rated hotel, small and pokey rooms. Not enough car parks. Hotel staff rude. Breakfast was the best part but still staff unfriendly. The hotel seemed to more interested in the events that were going on at the venue rather than an normal visitor! Would not recommend this hotel, stayed in much better hotels for the amount we paid, Very expensive and over rated for what it is!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews