We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation good, Christmas disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The accommodation is clean and modern and in itself cannot be faulted. The room rate is also reasonably good.

However, and I note I'm not the only reviewer to say this, the atmosphere on Christmas Day was very disappointing. No staff member, apart from one friendly cleaner said Merry Christmas. At the bar area at 11.45 when I was eventually served I was greeted with "you're early", not a hint of merry Christmas. There was rubbish pop music being played and no Christmas carols. We had to wait nearly 20 minutes to get into the Christmas lunch and the lobby was getting crowded, including elderly people who had to stand and wait.

The redeeming feature was a wonderful Christmas gingerbread house on display in the lobby in the week before Christmas, however unfortunately that was moved on Christmas day so we could not show our Christmas visitors.

Wifi was really expensive $14.99 per hour or $24.99 per day and only available in the lobby (broadband is available in the rooms). Reception customer service was mediocre from some staff, however one girl was good.

Room Tip: Is worth paying the extra to get a room with a balcony, even if it's not a Harbour view room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beejayrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

We booked online for five adults to stay one night. Thank goodness we only had to stay one night! Upon arrival we were asked what bedding configuration we wanted in our room. There were two double beds for our group of five adults. I had to ask for a rollaway bed and when it arrived in the room we had difficulty fitting it in and had to move furniture. Why did they take our booking for five knowing five adults don't fit! Mirvac need to upgrade website for bookings so that it is obvious how big rooms are. We were all family but even so this was very close quarters. Whilst in the room you had to sit on the beds as there wasn't enough room to walk around. Very poor. A family of five is just not accommodated in most hotels. Why not? Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byjalmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here fro three nights over the New Year and we ate in the restaurant , drank in the bar and felt very comfortable at all times in a spacious front room with harbour views. Service was very polite and professional at all times. The choice of food at the Sunday buffet was a bit limited but it is possible that staff were recovering from New Year celebrations

On arrival there was an Aston Martin parked in the foyer and it transpired that the hotel was runnning a James Bond evening on Hogmanay. Grateful for the warning we ate out (in Harbourside) but thanks to some dimwit emptying a fire extinguisher at 1220 am we met the serried ranks in tuxedos and cocktail dresses , taking an unplanned break from what sounded like a James Bond Karaoke evening (I didn't know he was a fan of karaoke myself) in the car park. The evacuation of the hotel was carried out efficiently and calmly and the hotel is to be congratulated on that and on circulating an aplogetic letter within minutes of the end of the episode. I hope they found the wretch who did this ; as there were some elderly guests in dressing gowns , clearly distressed in the car park.

Room Tip: ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawardTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We booked 2 nights in the harbour view room at the Sebel Trinity. On arrival we were very disappointed with the view, as it looked out onto trees, and we had to step onto the deck and look right to get the water view. On the website it shows water visible through the windows. This is deceptive as the photo is not of the harbour view room. The same photo is also on the premium water view room on the website. We upgraded to the premium spa room. This room was much better. However, once again it did not look like photos on the website.
The staff were efficient and friendly and did give us a small discount. The reception was nice, and the location quite good. However, we would not stay again as it wasn’t anything special.

Room Tip: Don't trust the photos on the website for water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I took my very elderly mother to the Sebel for their 2011 Christmas Lunch thinking it would be a very special treat. The Christmas Grinch was in charge of the Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga and was determined to create as miserable an occasion as possible. I have had better meals at a fast food outlet and at least there they refresh the serving area. The Sebel obviously thought it was a fast food outlet as there was no ambiance, no music Christmas or otherwise. I cannot think of one redeeming aspect of the lunch and I was overwhelmingly disappointed as it will probably be the last time my mother is able to go out for Christmas lunch. I would never recommend this hotel to visitors for accomodation or meals as the experience including the attitude of staff is indicative of a dysfunctional organisation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia_OCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This hotel is a modern building partly built over the water of Tauranga Harbour (public areas and some rooms overhang the water). The more expensive rooms overhang the water buit some of the middle priced rooms also have reasonable views of the harbour. There is some noise from the road outside and the adjacent harbour bridge. It is just within easy walking distance of the restaurant area.
Rooms are spacious and well equipped.
It has a swimming pool, gym and free car parking.
There is a restaurant and bar. Service at the bar in the afternoon was some what lacklustre (slow service and ignored at one point) but when it arrived the high tea was good. We did note have meals here.

Room Tip: Ask to see the map and look for rooms facing east (2nd floor better).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Thanks to on line coupons we can occasionally afford to stay at the Sebel - we love it - room with a small deck & chairs over looking the sea - something I had never experienced before. Staff obviously well trained & can't be faulted - this goes for all staff - Reception, Restaurant etc. The decor of the Hotel & rooms are very nice. We have only had breakfasts in the restaurant but were more than impressed, food was exceptional in quality as well as choice. There is plenty of parking - underground as well as standard car park at the door.
We can't wait to go to the Sebel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#22 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
2.1 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Wharf Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Wharf Tauranga

Address: 51 Dive Crescent, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#11 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $134 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trinity Wharf Tauranga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat that reaches out to the ever-changing waters of the Tauranga Harbourand captures the very essence of New Zealand hospitality. This is a truly unique hotel located on and over the waters edge.Situated on the Pacific Coast Highway, in the sunny Bay of Plenty Region, Trinity Wharf Tauranga is surrounded by a diverse range of leisure and entertainment activities. It is essentially a gathering place - be it to 'gather yourself' or to gather with others. A place where you can be as active, or as restful as you like. Free wifi available throughout the hotel for in-house guests, and 176 on-site car parks. Accommodation: Architecturally designed across three central piers, Trinity Wharf Tauranga presents 123 well appointed guest rooms, of which 60 can accommodate twin share options for group travel or wedding guests. Two Bedroom and Three Bedroom Apartment options with fully equipped kitchen, laundry and spacious lounge/ dining areas make for an excellent family haven. Premium Water View Spa Guestrooms and the Trinity Wharf Suite provide spectacular harbour views, balconies on or over the water and offer luxurious spa baths - perfect for a special leisure escape. Events: Five versatile event venues provide excellent options for in-house residential conferences or special occasions. The Trinity Rooms (with capacity for up to 350 guests) have direct access to the hotel pontoon, enabling event guests to easily make their way to a boat transfer or an awaiting helicopter. For more intimate cocktail gatherings, product launches or corporate meetings, the Pool House Rooms (capacity for up to 80 guests) open on to the infinity edge pool and the refreshing harbour views beyond. An Exhibition Hall suitable for up to 28 trade display booths or themed gala dinners can seat up to 400 people theatre style. Lounge & Dining: Halo Lounge and Dining serves a fantastic array of breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner and supper options, as well as a fine cup of espresso, cocktails and an excellent wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Wharf Tauranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga Hotel Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Sebel Trinity Wharf Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing