We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Looking”
Review of Durham Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Durham Motor Inn
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I found this motel tired and dated 1970-80's construction surrounded by busy roads, with a 13 year old TV no DVD player no air cond, $20.00 internet connection fee, where most other motels are free. Also the price is on the high side for the age of the motel, clumsy small car park, generally there are better options out there. Also they take your credit card and swipe it as you check in very untrusting no other motel has done that in 20 years of staying in motels, maximum buck asked for minimum comfort.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank kjd255368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durh99, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at the motel we value all our Guests feedback.

As we are located in the city centre the roads are unfortunately busy during the day, but on the plus side you are only 1 minute walk into the town centre. Our TV’s aren’t 13 years old and all work well, we are progressively changing them with new flat screen tv’s when needed. As you can imagine to do this to all of the rooms at once would be very cost prohibitive. We do have dvd players at the motel which are available at reception. This is listed in our compendium along with an extensive dvd selection.

The ‘swiping’ of your credit card is an authorization, basically this is to prove to a business that a person has the required funds to pay for the room before entering then payment is taken on your departure. This is by no means a character judgment of our guests, it is just motel policy and the motel association provide a document from Visa that advises to do this as best practice. The document states “The purpose of authorization is to help determine that the account being used for payment is legitimate, in good standing, and that there are sufficient funds available in the account to complete the transaction.”. We do charge for our internet rather than building it into our room rates which mean that only the people that use it pay for it, which we think is much fairer. We use Telecom as the provider and discount their rate of $70 for a 24 hour voucher down to $20 for a 24 hour period, there are also cheaper rates if you want to use less. We are an Inner City motel and therefore location reflects in the price, however we are by far one of the most competitively priced motels in Tauranga city centre and get a lot of positive feedback about the motel. Again we are sorry we did not fulfill your expectations.
Gary and Karen
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 103 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2011

Sorry to say but I didnt take my shoes off in the main living area as the carpet was a bit on the grubby side. Most other bits were clean dishes and work sufaces etc. Spa bath had bits missing with a bit of corrosion around the jets. This was the most expensive place we stayed in and didnt reach expectation.
Net curtains didnt help and made the place very dark and dingey.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowBob_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durh99, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2011

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at the motel we value all our Guests feedback. If you had come and discussed with us we are sure that we could have resolved your concerns. All our carpets were steamed cleaned in October last year and again in the beginning of February also our spa jets are all made of copper so these will not corrode. We have net curtains in the rooms so that you our guests have more privacy, and they are on tracks so you can pull them back if you like more light. We are an Inner City motel and therefore location reflects in the price, however we are by far one of the most competitively priced motels in Tauranga city centre. Again we are sorry we did not fulfill our expectations.
Regards
Gary & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

This is a nice motel in a city environment. It has a lot of restaurants within walking distance (less than 1 km) and the lovely lady in the reception gave us good recommendations. The room was spatious and clean, furnished in a modern, minimalistic way with comfortable beds. Since the motel is located in the city, it will by definition be traffic noise in the area but we didn't notice any noise in the room. There is a small pool in the middle of the yard but we didn't use it since we arrived late, the weather was chilly and the pool were "exposed" to all other guests.

We (me and my spouse, from Sweden) visited NZ for one month during November 2010 and was travelling on both the north and south islands. We will definitely stay here again if we ever visit the city again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzztr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed at the Durham Motor Inn for 1 night. My first impressions where very good.
The staff where nice and chatty and friendly. The room was well presented and very tidy and up to scratch was a 4 star motor Inn.
The location was great, just a short walk to all the shops and restaurants. Was a little worried that it was going to be a bit too noisey, with traffic, but was pretty quiet. We did happen to stay on a quiet weekend thou. If I was to get picky I would say that the bed was a bit too soft for me and they advertised electric blankets but there where none in the room.
But overall a very enjoyable stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed here for two nights and had a reasonably confortable stay.
The suite was fairly spacious but had no air-con.......must have been a bit hot in full summer and we felt that we could have benefitted from it middle of Feb. There was an overhead fan in the lounge area though.
The owners were friendly although I agree with the other reviewer.......work in the courtyard did start pretty early.
This is a non-smoking hotel.....great, but the guy in the room next to ours went outside his front door to smoke and because we needed all our windows open to cool off, his smoke drifted into our room. This may not bother everyone of course.
Small pool was nice to cool off in but only a couple of patio tables and chairs to sit at.......no room for sun loungers..
I would consider staying here again as the location was very good..........it may depend on the time of the year though.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ju-ju60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Stayed two nights and found this motel to be very comfortable. It is close to shops and restaurants. The manager was very friendly and helpful. Our unit had every thing expected in this price range. Will stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrharper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Arriving at 9am, we were told our room was not yet available. Tired, we headed down the road for coffee & arrived back at 10am. Surprised but appreciative we were shown to our room immediately.
Our host Lynda has really found her calling. She welcomed, navigated, hosted & entertained us during our 4 night stay.
The rooms are very spacious and clean. The location is central just a short stroll to the restaurants and shops.
The pool is quite small, but adequate. All rooms oare on the ground floor.
We highly recommend this well maintained motel as your home away from home

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kazzaAshhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#24 of 57 in Tauranga
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
327 reviews
1.2 mi away
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
#17 of 57 in Tauranga
236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Cameron Rd and Harington Street, Tauranga 3001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: $90 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Durham Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing