We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful results”
Review of Durham Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Durham Motor Inn
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arived late exhausted from travelling Via Melbourne/Auckland and it was so nice to find
our accomodation warm and inviting, with plenty of room, and our Host was wonderful and showed
us how to get from point A to point B with clear instruction for a night visit to the
Hospital. We appreciated his help very much, and when the rest of my family arrived, they
suplied them with all their needs as well. Even the staff were very obliging, the rooms
were cleaned every day. My grand-daughter loved the spa-bath and the hot chocolate drinks.
We would not hesitate to stay with you in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngfamily90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durhammotor, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you...
If memory serves you visited Tauranga to spend time with a relative (brother?) due to undergo heart surgery. We are very pleased that we could take some stress out of a difficult time - for you and the rest of your family.
In particular, thanks from our staff who really appreciate your comments on the quality of their work and service. We are really proud of them and the work they do - and it's heart-warming when guests recognise their efforts.
We trust your brother is going from strength to strength and we hope you cam all come back to spend more time with him (and us) in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were greeted warmly at the reception, with that warmth maintained from the time we checked in until the day we left. The place was really tidy and cosy. Large bathroom. We got exactly what we booked for. Plus it is so near the Strand that it is so convenient if you plan for a night out without having to drive back afterwards.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian Che Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durhammotor, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope we'll see you again - sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tauranga
1
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The only issues that we had were the so called 'self-cleaning' pipes for the spa bath - while it is possible that such a thing exists, when I contacted spa bath specialists, they hadn't heard of such a thing in the circumstances I described. The area immediately around the jets looked like it could have been cleaned a little better too. Generally the room was clean and well presented though.
The Bed was wonderfully comfortable! I am not a fan of the little milk sachets with about a spoon full of milk in each and don't like the taste. If you like more than a drop in your tea or coffee, or lots of tea and coffee,bring your own milk. The heater was a fire hazard, which made a terrible noise when you turned on the fan function and gave off flashes of blue light from underneath, when the lights were turned off but the owner was pleased that we told him of the problem and given the fire risk, I'm sure it will be replaced. The staff were very friendly and if we weren't just staying the night, I'm sure they would have addressed all of the little issues or if we had turned on the heater earlier, and complained to them, I'm sure we would have been given a different one. We will definitely be going back again, it had a nice feel and we will just bring our own milk and run the pump and drain the water before running the bath for ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durhammotor, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate and act on your feedback. You'll be happy to know I replaced the heater that same day you told me of it.
As far as the milk is concerned, there's no need to bring your own - we have fresh milk for guests who prefer it. Obviously I forgot to mention it when you checked in and I'd like to apologise for my oversight there. And here at the Durham, don''t feel you have to put up with things - just give us a call and if we can fix it - whatever it is - we will! If we'd known the UHT milk was not to your taste, we'd have happily brought you a jug of fresh (trim) milk right away.
The spa baths - let me explain. Most spa baths use a water pump to squirt water through the jets. Ours use an air pump to produce bubbles. The baths have an automatic system to pump more air through after the bath has drained to flush any water from the air lines. Because this is not a standard spa bath/spa pool system, the people you talked to probably did not make the connection. You're right, some of the jet heads no longer look as good as they did. They have slight surface corrosion that detracts a little from their appearance. The original importer is no longer in business and we are trying to find an alternative supplier of replacement parts. But we do feel that the bath surface between the jet heads is as clean as it's humanly possible to achieve.
We look forward to greeting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice room, included kitchen with 2 hotplates, two types of tea, plunger coffee, hot chocolate all supplied. Comfortable bed and very pleasant service, happy to recommend and direct to local restaurants. Very central and easy to park. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durhammotor, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Tauranga. It is a lovely town, isn't it? We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Had to travel to Tauranga at short notice & Durham Motor Inn was reasonably priced and handy to everything. Owners were very accommodating. The price is inline with the facilities provided & city location. Bed was a bit soft & some noise from neighboring unit (talking loudly) on Saturday night, but would get that problem in many motels on a Saturday. Happy with choice of this motel as a base while attending to things in Tauranga.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beejayrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durhammotor, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and pleased you have mentioned how weel-located we are. It's always nice when a guest confirms the points we make. Hope we'll see you again for a vacation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This motel is under new management and the place is spotlessly clean and very comfortable.The owners are very friendly and accommodating. I thought it was very reasonably priced and only a couple of minutes walk to the restaurant strip and then the town.I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durh99, Manager at Durham Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thanks for your comments. We look foward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights, and were very happy with our choice. Clean and spacious rooms, totally awesome people! Nice central location, so easy walking to the waterfront and downtown shopping. Nice little pool, if you happen to run into a hot day. Would definitely stay again, and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#29 of 57 in Tauranga
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
#16 of 57 in Tauranga
237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn
2.2 mi away
18th Avenue Thermal Motel
18th Avenue Thermal Motel
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Cameron Rd and Harington Street, Tauranga 3001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: $91 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing