We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff but Poor Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2009

I found this motel on the tripadviser website, my previous experience with these motel/hotel ratings were great but this one is really disappointing.

Pros:
- Good location and friendly Staff
- Some harbour view

Cons:
- Bad value for money
- Small space, don't even have room for a couch.
- Somewhat dirty: my wife noticed spider web on vent and corner.
- Poor facilities: toilet flush button stucks and noisy heater
- Terrible sound proofing: I can clearly hear next door's conversation and people down stairs shutting their door.
- Poor service: the fridge was turned OFF, I didn't realise this until next morning. Yes I could have checked but no I don't think that's a customer's responsibility to check this.
- No cooking facility

Consider they charge $150 NZD for the cheapest room, which is not exactly cheap, I would expect them to fulfill some really basic requirements like good sound proofing and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 270 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2009

Stayed two nights in Tauranga which proved to be the big bonus surprise of our NZ trip. This motel has good facilities in a lovely quiet location- our groundfloor room had a balcony with a view over the very attractive estaury - and was within 15 mins gentle stroll of the restaurants and bars of the waterfront, This is an up and coming town with a good range of facilities and great local attractions including Mount Manganui which is a 20 minute ferry ride away across the harbour. I would definitely recommend both Tauranga and this motel as a good base to explore the Bay of Plenty

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
Thank Kenfaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

I stayed for two nights for a business meeting and was very impressed with this motel. The waterviews from many suites are nice. The staff were friendly without being intrusive. The units are very well cleaned and maintained. My bathroom only had a shower, but otherwise was fine. The short walk into the Tauranga town centre is pleasant. At night, the area is quiet. I would definitely recommend this accommodation for a short stay in Tauranga.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

We stayed here in Feburary 2007 upon recommendation. Our room looked out on to the water. My wife enjoyed the Spa Bath and the service of all staff was tremendous. Dwayne the receptionist was fun and made our stay even more pleasurable with his sense of humour. Lyn the night receptionist was helpful with choosing resturants etc. Only downfall was the building being built next store but it was a great experience. We would return for sure.

Peter (USA)

Stayed: February 2007
Thank hungup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

A cleverly designed website leads you to believe that you are booking into luxurious accommodation at a bargain price.

The rooms are large and spacious but in need of modernisation. They are let down by poor quality wardrobes and light fittings. No "see through" walls for our shower rooms. Just a very standard room with a wooden sliding door.

Receptionist friendly and helpful. The hotel is a short drive, or a 15 minute walk from restaurants.

No real complaints, it's just that the owners must have delusions of grandeur. 3 stars at best!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights this month (Aug 2006) with my wife and 2 children (aged 1 & 3). Stayed in a new premier suite and paid $195 which I thought was very reasonable. Very clean room and amazing views from the balcony over the water. $195 is about £70 - if this property was in a comparable location in the UK, somewhere like the Lake District, you would probably be paying at least double that. The bathroom was a bit odd but had a huge corner spa bath. If our kids were teenagers, I could imagine the glass wall and glass door could be a problem but we were fine with it - the glass wall is only 2 blocks wide, the rest of the wall is a proper wall. The room are very stylish but a bit 1980's as they are done out in black, white and red !!! whereas most new designs nowadays seem to be aimedd towards the neutral colours but there's no harm in having something a bit different.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spoyzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wellington, New Zealand
1
Reviewed May 1, 2006

We were in the standard unit. we found them clean and comfortable. the staff were very helpful and dwayne certainley made our stay very welcoming. The shops were just around the corner and the nightlife was just a few minutes walk. we enjoyed our stay very much. thank you to all.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel

Address: 1 Second Avenue, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#12 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $119 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing