We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location to town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

This Motel was excellent, lovely décor, clean and a really comfortable bed. Great two person bath, nice outdoor area with views over the inner harbour and really close to town so if you wanted to walk you could.

Room Tip: bath was worth the extra money if you want to really relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    74
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
31
140
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I told staff that it was my husband and I's anniversary and the lovely lady called me to let me know they would put us in their best room with no extra charge. The room was gorgeous! Beautifully furnished. We had a spa bath and a great shower. Comfy bed. Great kitchenette. The hostess had put a rose in a vase and a flower and chocolates on our bed. Our room was on the ground floor with a balcony and floor to ceiling windows. The view was absolutely amaazing! Hubby and I didnt want to leave! It was absolutely stunning. The staff were really lovely. Showed us how to use the coffee pod machine :P Would definately recommend this motel! Especially our room! 10/10

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amybrungar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Positive :Great value
Clean with good facilities
Has an espresso machine with coffee pods supplied


Negative: shower pressure very low


Would recommend highly with 5 stars if the shower flow was rectified

Overall great stay and helpful staff


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lallit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We absolutely loved this place - from the amazing views of the Tauranga harbour to the great way the spa unit was set out, there was nothing we didn't like about it. Clean, tidy, very well designed from an interior viewpoint - the bed was the best I have ever slept in from a motel/hotel viewpoint, free wi-fi, a Nespresso coffee maker, a great spa bath and really lovely organics-based gels and lotions as well.
The full windowed from leading onto a small private patio that faces the harbour with was wonderful - we went to bed with the shutters wide open enjoying the twinkling lights of the Mount knowing no-one else was going to be walking past, even though it is only a block and a half from the heart of they city centre. Very helpful manager - we'll be staying here for my daughter's wedding in February.

Room Tip: Definitely want the sea view again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pheather11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Arrived here late and the hostess was awaiting our arrival. Room was quite large with a beautiful view of the water. Double sinks in the bathroom were a big plus. It is only two blocks from the train trestle which made for a great morning run on the adjacent bike/walking path across to Matapihi and back. Plus it's a 5-minute walk to a killer coffee shop—Grindz Cafe.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 13 with a sweeping view of Waipu Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KukiniSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The motel was in an excellent position. The decor is stylish & the room made comfortable with tub chairs & comfy beds. Loved the Nespresso coffee machine! Only drawback was no balcony. The great view only through full length glass panel windows.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WellNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed in Studio room 18 nice water views the Studio was well appointed with microwave, fridge and a supply of Pyrex dishes to use in the microwave as well as a Pod coffee maker.
The bed was very comfortable good bathroom with separate toilet.
We were able to walk to a different restaurant each night and enjoyed restaurants in 4thAvenue and Cameron Road.
We have stayed here twice before and will return.
Friendly outgoing Staff who are so willing to ensure your stay enjoyable

Room Tip: Upstairs with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemaryc438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel

Property: The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Address: 1 Second Avenue, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#12 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing