We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here whilst in Tauranga for a wedding.
We were greeted and shown to our room by one of the very friendly reception staff who also offered further assistance with taxis and recommendations of places to eat.
The room was impeccably clean and tidy and the decor was very welcoming. It also had a spacious feel to it and came with all the basic amenities we needed for our short stay.
The bed was big and very comfortable which was much needed after a big day out.
The location near the heart of Tauranga CBD was a plus and I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone looking for a high quality stay in this city.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hamish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 270 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tauranga on the Waterfront for two nights in February. The unit was impeccable with aesthetically pleasing decor. We were shown to our unit; a gesture we appreciated. We were also impressed with the complimentary fruit juice and beer left in the fridge. We loved the view over the water and the easy access to the city and restaurants. The bed was extremely comfortable. We found reception staff to be very helpful. I would certainly choose to stay at Tauranga on the Waterfront if visiting Tauranga again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

very quiet place to stay. Lovely modern room and great receptionist and customer Service.
Only two points that were negative, the shower head is rather low and the lights are a bit dim although modern.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Always inspect the room first. Check out Tripadvisor ratings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I had a lovely quiet room with lovely sea views. This was a room around the side of the building which was nice and safe. Loved my stay here. The bed was fabulous! like sleeping on a cloud. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again. The Nespresso coffee machine was a nice touch for my morning coffee. Lovely and handy to the shops and eateries with a pathway from the motel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the road are quiet with good views but slightly cheaper. Well worth the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Came for a wedding and stayed here for two nights. Beautiful and clean accommodation. We had a nice view of the water even though we weren't technically in one of the waterfront suites. We had a good size fridge considering it is a hotel room and were able to keep drinks and snacks in there. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Tauranga. The only improvement would be in the bathroom. I am a 5'7 (170cm) female and had to bend down to be under the shower head. This would not prevent me though from visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband & I stayed three nights at this lovely hotel and could have stayed longer. The view from our ocean front room was spectacular! Highly recommend ocean front rooms, given the rooms have a full size wall window overlooking the beautiful ocean. Staff service was excellent...thank you Helen for making our stay one of the best in NZ :)

Room Tip: ocean front rooms have spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This up to date two story family owned motel is right on the water in Tauranga within walking distance to a vibrant downtown area with lots of great restaurants. The room was ocean view and from the second story had a nice sideways view out to the bay. The ocean front room views must be awesome. The room, bath and little cupboard kitchenette were all wonderfully clean. The owner furnished a couple of bottles of a bubbly beverage as a welcome, very nice. The bed was comfortable, nice TV and comfortable eating area. Parking is assigned so you can come and go whenever you like and know you have a parking space. It's on a cul-de-sac, so it was very quiet neighborhood with a most fascinating tree right across the road in front of the white house.

Room Tip: If your luggage is quite heavy, you might ask for a ground floor room. All rooms have a view and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel

Address: 1 Second Avenue, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#12 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $119 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing