We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband & I stayed three nights at this lovely hotel and could have stayed longer. The view from our ocean front room was spectacular! Highly recommend ocean front rooms, given the rooms have a full size wall window overlooking the beautiful ocean. Staff service was excellent...thank you Helen for making our stay one of the best in NZ :)

Room Tip: ocean front rooms have spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    70
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
137
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This up to date two story family owned motel is right on the water in Tauranga within walking distance to a vibrant downtown area with lots of great restaurants. The room was ocean view and from the second story had a nice sideways view out to the bay. The ocean front room views must be awesome. The room, bath and little cupboard kitchenette were all wonderfully clean. The owner furnished a couple of bottles of a bubbly beverage as a welcome, very nice. The bed was comfortable, nice TV and comfortable eating area. Parking is assigned so you can come and go whenever you like and know you have a parking space. It's on a cul-de-sac, so it was very quiet neighborhood with a most fascinating tree right across the road in front of the white house.

Room Tip: If your luggage is quite heavy, you might ask for a ground floor room. All rooms have a view and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our welcome could not have been more hospitable or helpful. The receptionist should be giving seminars to others on how it should be done! We had a spacious ground floor suite overlooking the road which proved to be very quiet - it's at the end of a cul de sac. My initial concerns the motel might be noisy because it was full both nights we stayed were unfounded and I like my stays to be nice and peaceful, so this gets my vote. We also appreciated the king size bed which was very comfortable. The motel is well located near the main shopping street - which is virtually deserted at night so adds to the tranquility - and an easy 10 minute leisurely stroll down to the Strand where all the best bars and restaurants are. You'd have to be seriously picky to find fault here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a superb, large, comfortable room with a court area outside overlooking the river. Very friendly, helpful lady on arrival that actually took us to the room.
Close to some lots of restaurants and the river front.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizacoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were booked in for two nights in summer, February very very hot..... I was so looking forward to having air conditioning. Imagine my dismay to find there was only a cluncky noisy fan!! I was scared it would come apart as it was not straight! Also we were on the ground floor, no privacy curtains...i.e open the curtains and people walking past can look into your unit. Also no security, it was so hot I wanted to leave the door open but there is no security door. It is a shame because these problems are easy to fix and would have made our stay much more enjoyable. The room was spotless and spacious. I never come across such friendly helpful ladies at the desk, they are truly to be complimented!!!! It is also in a very good location, if you are needing to be in town and also very quite apart for the cluncky fan!!!!!

Room Tip: If you need air conditioning don't come here. If you travel in the cooler months, you will be ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlooitjie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Made the reservation by phone, and knew we were on to a good thing straight away by the super friendly and helpful receptionist. The ground floor waterfront unit was very clean, quiet, spacious, and well equipped. The complimentary orange juice was a nice touch. Very comfy outdoor furniture, and the view was amazing. And just a short walk to the Main Street and waterfront restaurants. Will be our first choice of accommodation in Tauranga in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night , the room was great, awesome view , staff were very helpful. Only issue I had was the privacy. .. The bathroom had a glass door and no lock. Other than that everything was great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Swapneel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bethlehem Motor Inn and Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel

Property: The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Address: 1 Second Avenue, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#12 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing