We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, roomy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the self contained kitchen and the size of the unit. Also of note were the quality bed linens and the very comfortable bed. The stand out was the cleanliness of the rooms and friendly helpful service. I would certainly stay here again. Our only regret was not booking a room with a balcony (I thought we had) but we still had a water view from the window. An excellent experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleigh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 273 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We received a very warm welcome, some milk fir tea and a cool drink.

This motel has views across the water and as it was a warm afternoon we had our drinks on our small terrace to enjoy the late sun.

The room was spacious and immaculately clean. Also it is an easy walk into the town centre where there are plenty of restaurants and pubs to choose from.

There are also laundry facilities for guests although we didn't use them.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with a view across the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed here with a friend and to ensure we got the correct bedding configuration I phoned to clarify. Sandra was very friendly and suggested a ground floor unit with spa bath and patio overlooking the waterfront. The spa was perfect for my friend who likes a bath every night. This is certainly several notches above the average motel that’s for sure and I was very surprised at the quality and superior finish of the unit. It had a very comfortable king size bed plus a single bed separated by a room divider; there was even a Nespresso coffee machine and the little extras like complimentary orange juice were also appreciated. Being able to sit outside enjoying our drinks whilst taking in the view was a wonderful way to wind down at the end of our busy day and then again in the morning we were able to enjoy the rising sun. It is located in a quiet street and yet is relatively close to downtown Tauranga and only a 10 minute walk to The Strand restaurants. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend treating yourself to a waterfront unit, although I have also stayed in one of The Avenue units previously which are also very nice.

Room Tip: Choose a waterfront unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a great stay. Staff friendly, clean modern room, great views. Walking distance to town and restaurant. Quiet location. The whole place had a good feel and we were able to relax before returning home.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Fwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here over New Year for a total of 3 nights and had an awesome time. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the location is convenient and the amenities are great.
The room we stayed in had a fantastic view of bays to the east and the king bed was very comfortable. A Nespresso machine in the room was a nice touch too.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank London_Calling_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Excellent room with lovely views. Excellent staff arranged dinner booking on a busy night in Tauranga. Our room contained all we needed with a lovely comfortable brand new bed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJG10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A friend and I stayed in a ground floor room overlooking the water. Amazing views, so calming and panoramic. Easy access to town for shopping and restaurants. Great service especially the new coffee machine. The new king size beds are luxurious. Exceptionally clean.
Our only gripe was that the single bed one of us had to use was too hard. A sheepskin cover or topper pad would fix that. I believe the owners are buying new beds...that would certainly make a difference when both are sharing the costs of the room.

Room Tip: choose ground floor room with a balcony and magnificent view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
332 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#24 of 57 in Tauranga
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel

Address: 1 Second Avenue, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#8 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $121 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing