We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sized rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice sized rooms”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place. The staff and customer service were absolutely top notch. Can't speak highly enough of the,. From check in to settling final bill, simple and easy. The rooms were well appointed, especially the little kitchenette. Very clean and comfortable. Linen was crisp and the shower clean. The view from my room over the water was just awesome. Nice and relaxing.
A couple of points though, I personally found the pillows to be either too much or not enough. Please don't let this put you off the motel though. The shower pressure isn't the greatest. You can plenty of hot water to get clean, but after a hard days slog, I like some kick to the water. Also the main thing that could make a huge difference is the lighting in the room. Hard to see in the area where you keep your bags due to lack of light. Not easy to get what your looking for out of bag

Overall, highly recommend and would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    79
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
31
145
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here after visiting Rotorua. We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the harbour. The lady at check-in was helpful and polite. The bed was very comfortable and for the price this motel was excellent value. We were walking distance to the township and we had a lovely meal on the waterfront. I am more than happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor balcony room, fabulous view, peaceful and tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spouse and self have today returned from a 4 x days stay at The Tauranga. Enjoyed every minute. The morning view across the water with the new sun rising in a magnificent show of brilliance was not to be missed. The spacious unit was great with everything spotless, well furnished. As mentioned to the excellent front desk staff when leaving, the only thing wrong with the motel was that there was nothing to complain about. Even the goods train which traverses the nearby bridge at any hour was a welcome sound as it took goods for NZ export income in one direction or brought imports for us to buy in the other.
Other reviews have mentioned the bathroom glass door and certainly this door surprises. The spacious bathroom (in Unit 3) is brilliantly lighted with its 13 bulbs reflecting in 3 mirrors set an angles over his and hers dual wash basins. This illumination clearly allows full vision through the smoky door though the walls design does not allow visibility of anyone seated on the toilet seat or within the shower. Emerging from the shower and standing at a washbasin are fully visible through the door.
The ground-floor, water-facing units are certainly not for littlies. The sparklingly clean glass of the windows and ranchslider make the glass unseeable to the racing child. Also, the cliff-like drop from the meagre grass beyond the balconies to the water below is, in my mind, an extreme danger. Kids would be attracted by the chooks which arrive to peck among the grass which could result in disappearing kids. - over the cliff. I’m not complaining, merely commenting.
Spouse and self enjoyed the proximity of the main street and everything about The Tauranga. We would certainly stay there again. Our grateful thanks to the extremely helpful staff.

Room Tip: You MUST have a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently stayed in the executive suite with sea views. The view of the harbour is stunning and beautiful and is the first thing to catch your eye as you enter your room. The room is tastefully furnished and came with a double bed a single bed and kichenette.

Then as you check out the rest of the room, you are impressed with the modern, clean bathroom until you notice the block glass accent from floor to ceiling and the smoked glass bathroom door (which look exactly like a shower door). Not the least bit romantic as you can see into the bathroom and hear your partner doing whatever one does in the bathroom! Also if you need to use the facilities in the middle of the night, the light shines through the glass blocks and lights up the whole room to wake you up to the sound of gentle tinkleing of a waterfall or gushing torrent......or worse. (Hopefully not too descriptive!)

The double bed was also uncomfortably soft.

Excellent location and friendly front office staff but I would only return if the bathroom and bed situation is improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A great getaway. Clean and well serviced. Friendly reception staff. The only negative was that the armchairs were uncomfortable and cheap compared to the rest of the furnishings . Very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room. Views are tranquil and uplifting in the early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Convieneantly locate, walking distance to all the shopping, bars and restaurants.
Great view from our room, although a little smaller than expected from the images on the web site.
Clean rooms and had all the necessary items to make the stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our second stay in one of the harbour-facing units. They have it all - privacy, fantastic location, superb views, smart luxurious decor, really really nice staff. My one complaint is the bathroom door - people have been complaining about it in reviews for years and obviously the owners don't realise how seriously it detracts from an otherwise exceptional experience. Please, get the carpenters in and put a proper sound-proof, smell-proof, non-see-through door on the bathrooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
522 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel

Property: The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Address: 1 Second Avenue, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#12 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing