We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just a one night stay and we had a ground floor unit at the side but still had views and the photo was taken in front of one of the Premier suites with fantastic views.
The lady that checked us in was fantastic,very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and tidy and with just a short walk into town we did some shopping and checked out some of the cafes and there is certainly plenty to choose from.
With plenty of photo opportunities we even got some great shots from down by the water but you will have to climb down the stairs to get them just be careful.
A lovely place to stay and next time it will be the Premier suite.

Room Tip: The water front units with great views if you can afford them would be fantastic and you will not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    79
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
31
144
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

What I was able to see through a window of the Premier Ultra Suite room was mainly a huge palm tree.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is wonderful. We were upgraded to a suite looking straight over the harbour - gorgeous. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The interior of the motel is exactly as depicted in the pictures. On site parking is available and free wi-fi. The motel is within walking distance of 'The Strand' where there is a wide variety of great restaurants. I'd certainly stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: A room loverlooking the harbour completes the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newcastletraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This Motel is just perfect after a busy day at the Mt. We checked in easily and were very imprtessed with the size of the rooms. They are very spacious and very clean. The little cooking area is excellent even though there is no cooker, just a microwave and kettle and fridge. Our room was looking out at the water and we were within walking distance to all the shops and bars and restaurants. The receptionist was very helpful and we were made to feel very welcome. The Bathroom was excellent with a huge shower. We had a lovely little balcony for drinks before dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This motel is the best ever, the rooms are huge with lage panoramic windows looking out onto the bay, the bathroom was state of the art luxury. The 2 receptionists we dealt with were absolutely lovely, when they found out it was our wedding anniversary, they put 2 red roses in a a slim vase in our room. Would love to go there again in the future.

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which had a more generous parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouserinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at the end of our NZ road trip. The staf was supper helpful and veiws from our full water front room were outstanding. Supper clean room with a nice patio to enjoy the bay. The location is about 6 blocks from the central tourist area. The main area for food and sights is down the hill but walking back at night is a little uneasy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here with my family before Christmas. We had a nice spacious room with a great view over the estuary facing east. Bed was very comfortable and had a basic kitchen behind doors. Only drawback was the louvre doors and the early morning light coming through, no blackout curtains. No a/c either but was ok as a quiet place to stay. It was nice enough for us to return there for a night on the way out of NZ. Motel was located a nice walk to local restaurants if not raining.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Ask for one facing the water-front on the ground floor as there is a balcony whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank druzzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel

Property: The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Address: 1 Second Avenue, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#12 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing