We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This motel is the best ever, the rooms are huge with lage panoramic windows looking out onto the bay, the bathroom was state of the art luxury. The 2 receptionists we dealt with were absolutely lovely, when they found out it was our wedding anniversary, they put 2 red roses in a a slim vase in our room. Would love to go there again in the future.

Room Tip: We were in room 10 which had a more generous parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouserinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 277 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at the end of our NZ road trip. The staf was supper helpful and veiws from our full water front room were outstanding. Supper clean room with a nice patio to enjoy the bay. The location is about 6 blocks from the central tourist area. The main area for food and sights is down the hill but walking back at night is a little uneasy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here with my family before Christmas. We had a nice spacious room with a great view over the estuary facing east. Bed was very comfortable and had a basic kitchen behind doors. Only drawback was the louvre doors and the early morning light coming through, no blackout curtains. No a/c either but was ok as a quiet place to stay. It was nice enough for us to return there for a night on the way out of NZ. Motel was located a nice walk to local restaurants if not raining.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size. Ask for one facing the water-front on the ground floor as there is a balcony whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank druzzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Excellent accommodation, warm welcome from Sandra in Reception who was helpful during our stay. Small unit was well laid out with kitchen facilities behind wardrobe type unit. Separate toilet plus a shower room. Everything we needed for our stay was provided and should we have wanted a breakfast this could be arranged as well. Took 10 minutes to walk to The Strand where there were many restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Finally, a hotel with a modern, young design. Awesome bathroom, little kitchen hidden as a wardrobe with all the essential stuff: toaster, fridge freezer, kettle, microwave, sink, glasses, etc. I found the beds too soft for me, which resulted in a bed sleep. Despite that a the room was fantastic. It is close to the city centre, however you have to use your car to get to the main beach and other attractions.

Room Tip: Choose on the ground floor to get your own balcony with a table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schubi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just stayed on night. Booked it before we left home. We had a ground floor studio, so did not have the lovely views, but it was pouring with rain anyway! We had a small outside area with chairs, which overlooked the road with a side view of the water. Nice size room, shower room and seperate loo. Bed fairly comfortable, small kitchenette behind wardrobe doors.Walking distance to the main part of town. Not much more to say really, it was clean and adequate for our needs, but nothing special to make it memorable!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSunshine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights over Christmas 2012. Luxury Waterfront Suite on the ground floor so that we could have the use of the balcony. Lovely rooms, well-appointed and great view over the estuary. We’d stay again. Handy location if you want access to the CBD.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a Luxury Waterfront Suite, ground floor has the outdoor area which upstairs ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
555 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#17 of 57 in Tauranga
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel

Address: 1 Second Avenue, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#8 Family Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $131 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing